Golden Trails of East Africa

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balconies for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Golden Trails of East Africa



Tour Description:

Your journey begins with an overnight stay in Johannesburg (option to start with 3 nights in Cape Town). Next, fly to Kasane, Botswana and board the Zambezi Queen, your wildlife river cruise vessel on the Chobe River for the next 4 nights. Enjoy two nights at Victoria Falls, one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. From here, fly to Johannesburg for two nights at your intimate, all-suite hotel. Depart to Nairobi where a connecting flight brings you to your Tanzania safari. Enjoy two nights at three of the four luxury Tanzanian lodges: Tarangire Treetops, The Manor at Ngorongoro, and the luxury-tented Serengeti Migration Camp or Serengeti Pioneer Camp.

Map for Golden Trails of East Africa
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 23 Jun 24 — Wednesday 10 Jul 24Starting at $17,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 30 Jun 24 — Wednesday 17 Jul 24Starting at $17,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 14 Jul 24 — Wednesday 31 Jul 24Starting at $17,185 Get a Quote
Sunday 21 Jul 24 — Wednesday 07 Aug 24Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 15 Sep 24 — Wednesday 02 Oct 24Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 03 Nov 24 — Wednesday 20 Nov 24Starting at $17,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 09 Mar 25 — Wednesday 26 Mar 25Starting at $16,795 Get a Quote
Sunday 23 Mar 25 — Wednesday 09 Apr 25Starting at $16,795 Get a Quote
Sunday 06 Apr 25 — Wednesday 23 Apr 25Starting at $16,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 13 Apr 25 — Wednesday 30 Apr 25Starting at $17,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 27 Apr 25 — Wednesday 14 May 25Starting at $17,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 04 May 25 — Wednesday 21 May 25Starting at $17,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 18 May 25 — Wednesday 04 Jun 25Starting at $17,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 08 Jun 25 — Wednesday 25 Jun 25Starting at $17,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 22 Jun 25 — Wednesday 09 Jul 25Starting at $17,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 06 Jul 25 — Wednesday 23 Jul 25Starting at $17,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 13 Jul 25 — Wednesday 30 Jul 25Starting at $17,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 20 Jul 25 — Wednesday 06 Aug 25Starting at $17,385 Get a Quote
Sunday 27 Jul 25 — Wednesday 13 Aug 25Starting at $17,595 Get a Quote
Sunday 03 Aug 25 — Wednesday 20 Aug 25Starting at $17,695 Get a Quote
Sunday 10 Aug 25 — Wednesday 27 Aug 25Starting at $17,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 17 Aug 25 — Wednesday 03 Sep 25Starting at $17,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 24 Aug 25 — Wednesday 10 Sep 25Starting at $17,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 21 Sep 25 — Wednesday 08 Oct 25Starting at $17,695 Get a Quote
Sunday 12 Oct 25 — Wednesday 29 Oct 25Starting at $17,595 Get a Quote
Sunday 19 Oct 25 — Wednesday 05 Nov 25Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 02 Nov 25 — Wednesday 19 Nov 25Starting at $17,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 08 Mar 26 — Wednesday 25 Mar 26Starting at $17,795 Get a Quote
Sunday 22 Mar 26 — Wednesday 08 Apr 26Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 05 Apr 26 — Wednesday 22 Apr 26Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 12 Apr 26 — Wednesday 29 Apr 26Starting at $17,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 26 Apr 26 — Wednesday 13 May 26Starting at $17,695 Get a Quote
Sunday 03 May 26 — Wednesday 20 May 26Starting at $17,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 17 May 26 — Wednesday 03 Jun 26Starting at $17,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 24 May 26 — Wednesday 10 Jun 26Starting at $18,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 31 May 26 — Wednesday 17 Jun 26Starting at $18,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 07 Jun 26 — Wednesday 24 Jun 26Starting at $18,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 14 Jun 26 — Wednesday 01 Jul 26Starting at $18,295 Get a Quote
Sunday 21 Jun 26 — Wednesday 08 Jul 26Starting at $18,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 28 Jun 26 — Wednesday 15 Jul 26Starting at $18,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 05 Jul 26 — Wednesday 22 Jul 26Starting at $18,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 12 Jul 26 — Wednesday 29 Jul 26Starting at $18,895 Get a Quote
Sunday 19 Jul 26 — Wednesday 05 Aug 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 26 Jul 26 — Wednesday 12 Aug 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 02 Aug 26 — Wednesday 19 Aug 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 09 Aug 26 — Wednesday 26 Aug 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 16 Aug 26 — Wednesday 02 Sep 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 23 Aug 26 — Wednesday 09 Sep 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 30 Aug 26 — Wednesday 16 Sep 26Starting at $19,095 Get a Quote
Sunday 06 Sep 26 — Wednesday 23 Sep 26Starting at $18,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 13 Sep 26 — Wednesday 30 Sep 26Starting at $18,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 20 Sep 26 — Wednesday 07 Oct 26Starting at $18,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 27 Sep 26 — Wednesday 14 Oct 26Starting at $18,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 11 Oct 26 — Wednesday 28 Oct 26Starting at $18,695 Get a Quote
Sunday 01 Nov 26 — Wednesday 18 Nov 26Starting at $17,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 08 Nov 26 — Wednesday 25 Nov 26Starting at $17,695 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Day 1
ARRIVE IN JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA. After being greeted at the airport by an AmaWaterways Representative, transfer to Fairlawns Hotel.

Day 2
JOHANNESBURG – KASANE, BOTSWANA – ZAMBEZI QUEEN – EMBARKATION. Fly to Kasane, Botswana where you’ll be transferred to the Chobe River. Tender boats will take you to the Zambezi Queen moored on the Namibia side of the river. Settle into your stateroom and in the evening, enjoy a Welcome Cocktail Reception and Dinner.

Day 2
ZAMBEZI QUEEN – EMBARKATION. Embark the Zambezi Queen in Kasane. Late this afternoon, enjoy the riverside scenery before your Welcome Cocktail and Dinner on board.

Day 3
ZAMBEZI QUEEN. Embark on an exhilarating morning boat safari. Return to the Zambezi Queen for lunch. Later in the day, enjoy another thrilling boat safari.

Day 4
ZAMBEZI QUEEN. Join a full-day safari of Chobe National Park in open-top 4x4 vehicles. For lunch, take a seat under the trees and savor a delicious picnic.

Day 5
ZAMBEZI QUEEN. Visit a typical African village spending time with the village children as well as its elders followed by lunch on board. During the afternoon, you can go on a boat safari, bird watch or fish, and then cap the day off with a festive African-themed dinner.

Day 6
ZAMBEZI QUEEN – DISEMBARKATION. Disembark your cruise in Kasane.

Day 6
ZAMBEZI QUEEN – DISEMBARKATION – VICTORIA FALLS, ZIMBABWE. Enjoy a morning cruise during breakfast and be on the lookout for wildlife. Afterward, transfer to the legendary Victoria Falls, one of the world’s greatest natural wonders. Spend the afternoon exploring the town or experience one of the many activities offered at your hotel. Later this afternoon, join a cocktail reception with appetizers aboard a vintage steam train and make your way to the Victoria Falls Bridge to watch the sunset over the Falls.

Day 7
VICTORIA FALLS. A local guide will take you on a tour of the awe-inspiring Victoria Falls. You’ll learn about its history, and the flora and fauna that make this area so unique. In the evening, embark on a private sunset cruise along the Zambezi River. Relax on board as you observe a variety of game while enjoying a delicious mix of tapas with drinks, followed by a special dinner with live local entertainment at the hotel.

Day 8
VICTORIA FALLS – JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA. After breakfast, you’ll be taken to the airport for your flight to Johannesburg. Transfer to the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel with its parklike setting and wonderful Spa.

Day 9
JOHANNESBURG. Take a fascinating tour of Johannesburg and Soweto. Walk in the footsteps of Nelson Mandela, visiting the Mandela House, followed by a township lunch. In the evening, enjoy a multi-course dinner.

Day 10
JOHANNESBURG – KILIMANJARO, TANZANIA – ARUSHA, TANZANIA. Fly to Kilimanjaro where you will be met by an AmaWaterways Representative and transferred to the Arusha Coffee Lodge.

Day 11
ARUSHA – TARANGIRE NATIONAL PARK. Journey to Tarangire National Park, where you'll go on an adventurous safari before checking into Treetops Lodge.

Day 12
TARANGIRE NATIONAL PARK, TANZANIA. Experience the wonders of Tarangire with a full day of activities, including a morning bushwalk, an afternoon safari and a sunset drive. This is home to the highest number of breeding bird species in the world along with thousands of elephants, huge herds of buffalo, stately fringe-eared oryx and the towering kudu.

Day 13
TARANGIRE - NGORONGORO, TANZANIA. Visit a local village before enjoying a game drive through Manyara National Park, home to tree-climbing lions, giraffes, cheetahs, monkeys, impalas and baboons. Be treated to a picnic en route to The Manor at Ngorongoro.

Day 14
NGORONGORO CRATER, TANZANIA. Go on a full-day exploration to the awe-inspiring Ngorongoro Crater. Once a gigantic volcano, it’s the world’s largest intact caldera offering a unique environment virtually unchanged since the dawn of time. The nearly three million years old caldera shelters one of the most beautiful wildlife havens on earth. Deep within the crater, some 25,000 large mammals wander the plains, lakes and forests. A picnic will be served on the crater floor, followed by further exploration before heading back to The Manor.

Day 15
NGORONGORO - SERENGETI, TANZANIA. Fly to the Serengeti and in the afternoon, go on a game drive to see the “Big Five.”

Day 16
SERENGETI NATIONAL PARK, TANZANIA. Explore the vast Serengeti via an open safari cruiser during the morning and after lunch. It is not possible to say with any accuracy where the Great Migration of the Wildebeest will be located at any one time. There are several determining factors; however, one can be assured that if there is a good chance of seeing it, then this can be accomplished from the Pioneer Camp or Migration Camp.

Day 17
SERENGETI - ARUSHA, TANZANIA. Take your final safari drive in the morning, and then transfer to the airstrip for your flight back to Arusha. Lunch will be served in the gardens of the lodge before your final transfer to Kilimanjaro International Airport or extend your journey with four nights in magical Rwanda. (B,L) Note: Please do not schedule your onward flight until after 6:00 p.m.