Back Roads of Japan

Just for you, discounts on every G Adventure product. Savings up to $2,500 depending on the G Adventure you purchase. One thing for sure, Pavlus Travel guarantees you the absolute lowest price for every G Adventure Tour. No joke, we're a leader in marketing G Adventures. Don't let this deal slip away, simply call 800.528.9300 to book for real savings.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Back Roads of Japan



Tour Description:

Wander off the beaten path away from Japan's big cities and popular sites with this 11-day tour that takes you to destinations that are often overlooked. Visit the treasured castle of Matsumoto and learn about samurai culture, explore the quaint city of Hagi by bicycle, and settle in at a community homestay to truly immerse yourself in the local culture. Of course, there's time before and after to explore Tokyo and Kyoto, making this trip a well-rounded glimpse into Japan's past and present.

Map for Back Roads of Japan
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Saturday 05 Nov 22 — Tuesday 15 Nov 22Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 18 Feb 23 — Tuesday 28 Feb 23Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 04 Mar 23 — Tuesday 14 Mar 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 18 Mar 23 — Tuesday 28 Mar 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 15 Apr 23 — Tuesday 25 Apr 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 29 Apr 23 — Tuesday 09 May 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 27 May 23 — Tuesday 06 Jun 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 01 Jul 23 — Tuesday 11 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 15 Jul 23 — Tuesday 25 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 02 Sep 23 — Tuesday 12 Sep 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 30 Sep 23 — Tuesday 10 Oct 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 28 Oct 23 — Tuesday 07 Nov 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 16 Dec 23 — Tuesday 26 Dec 23Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 17 Feb 24 — Tuesday 27 Feb 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 02 Mar 24 — Tuesday 12 Mar 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 16 Mar 24 — Tuesday 26 Mar 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 30 Mar 24 — Tuesday 09 Apr 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 06 Apr 24 — Tuesday 16 Apr 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 13 Apr 24 — Tuesday 23 Apr 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 27 Apr 24 — Tuesday 07 May 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 11 May 24 — Tuesday 21 May 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 25 May 24 — Tuesday 04 Jun 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 08 Jun 24 — Tuesday 18 Jun 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 15 Jun 24 — Tuesday 25 Jun 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 22 Jun 24 — Tuesday 02 Jul 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 29 Jun 24 — Tuesday 09 Jul 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 13 Jul 24 — Tuesday 23 Jul 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 27 Jul 24 — Tuesday 06 Aug 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 17 Aug 24 — Tuesday 27 Aug 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 31 Aug 24 — Tuesday 10 Sep 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 14 Sep 24 — Tuesday 24 Sep 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 28 Sep 24 — Tuesday 08 Oct 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 05 Oct 24 — Tuesday 15 Oct 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 12 Oct 24 — Tuesday 22 Oct 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 19 Oct 24 — Tuesday 29 Oct 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 26 Oct 24 — Tuesday 05 Nov 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 09 Nov 24 — Tuesday 19 Nov 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 14 Dec 24 — Tuesday 24 Dec 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Tokyo
Arrive at any time.

Tokyo
Take a CEO-led walking tour of eclectic modern Tokyo from the hub of Shinjuku to Shibuya through to Harajuku. The rest of the day is free for exploring more of the city.

Tokyo/Nagano
Journey to Nagano, located in the Japanese Alps and host city of the 1998 Winter Olympics. Discover the world-famous Jigokudani Monkey Park and watch Japanese snow monkeys bathing in the natural hot springs.

Nagano
Enjoy a day-trip to quaint Matsumoto and visit one of Japan's most treasured castles. Return to Nagano and explore historic Zenkoji Temple.

Nagano/Otsu
Travel to Otsu in Shiga prefecture, located on the banks of Lake Biwa, Japan's largest freshwater lake. Settle in and relax with a stroll around this picturesque lake before heading out to enjoy a delicious bowl of Ramen for dinner.

Otsu/Hagi
Grab a quick breakfast before heading off, on a long travel day. In the late afternoon, arrive in the quaint city of Hagi, a former castle town that boasts feudal architecture. Take part in a welcome ceremony with the local residents, and meet your host family at a community homestay, a G Adventures for Good project. Get to know each other as you enjoy dinner together.

Hagi
Explore rural Hagi on a guided morning cycle, spotting samurai architecture along the way. On return, experience authentic Japanese countryside life by partaking in seasonal activities with the community. Return to your homestay in the late afternoon and enjoy dinner with your host family.

Hagi/Tottori
Bid farewell to your host family after enjoying breakfast together. Later, travel to Miho-misumi by train, taking in scenic views along the way. Learn the art of making "washi," a UNESCO-recognized traditional Japanese paper before continuing to the seaside town of Tottori.

Tottori/Kyoto
Spend the morning exploring Tottori's scenic sand dunes, some reaching 50m (164 ft) in height. After, visit the local fish market and opt for a fresh seafood lunch. In the late afternoon, travel to Kyoto for two nights in the traditional heart of Japan.

Kyoto
Visit the iconic Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine, famed for an impressive 10,000 red torii gates. This afternoon, enjoy free time in this picturesque city. Opt to experience zen gardens, teahouses, shrines, and local gift shops – and maybe even spot a real-life geisha.

Kyoto
Depart at any time.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.