Splendors of Japan with Hiroshima

Trafalgar Tours perhaps offers the most variety of guided tours in the World. While some believe Trafalgar only features guided tours of Europe the Trafalgar Tours guided tour brochures feature escorted tours throughout the World. An all time favorite every year is the Trafalgar Tours Italy collection. Italy Tours have ranked #1 every year. Trafalgar group tours are available in Europe, Italy, South America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Pavlus Travel discounts the retail price of all Trafalgar Tours from brochures prices. As one of the largest seller of Trafalgar in the World, Pavlus guarantees you the lowest Trafalgar prices.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Splendors of Japan with Hiroshima



Tour Description:

Embrace the timeless tradition and modern spirit of Japan’s iconic sites, from the neon skyline of Tokyo to the foodie hotspot of Osaka. Relax in the soothing hot springs of Kotohira, spend the night in a traditional ryokan and contemplate world peace in Hiroshima. The Activity Level of this tour is Dynamic, meaning this journey features 4+ miles of walking on some days and may involve steep hills.

Map for Splendors of Japan with Hiroshima
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 18 Aug 24 — Friday 30 Aug 24Starting at $7,225Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Sep 24 — Friday 13 Sep 24Starting at $7,195Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Sep 24 — Friday 27 Sep 24Starting at $7,220Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 27 Oct 24 — Friday 08 Nov 24Starting at $7,225Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Nov 24 — Friday 15 Nov 24Starting at $7,225Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Dec 24 — Friday 13 Dec 24Starting at $6,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 18 Dec 24 — Monday 30 Dec 24Starting at $6,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Jan 25 — Friday 17 Jan 25Starting at $6,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Feb 25 — Friday 14 Feb 25Starting at $6,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Mar 25 — Friday 14 Mar 25Starting at $7,375Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Mar 25 — Friday 21 Mar 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Mar 25 — Friday 28 Mar 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 19 Mar 25 — Monday 31 Mar 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 26 Mar 25 — Monday 07 Apr 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Mar 25 — Friday 11 Apr 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 02 Apr 25 — Monday 14 Apr 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Apr 25 — Friday 18 Apr 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Apr 25 — Friday 25 Apr 25Starting at $7,395Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 16 Apr 25 — Monday 28 Apr 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 20 Apr 25 — Friday 02 May 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 11 May 25 — Friday 23 May 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 25 May 25 — Friday 06 Jun 25Starting at $6,850Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Jun 25 — Friday 13 Jun 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Jun 25 — Friday 20 Jun 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Jun 25 — Friday 04 Jul 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 29 Jun 25 — Friday 11 Jul 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Jul 25 — Friday 25 Jul 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 Aug 25 — Friday 29 Aug 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Aug 25 — Friday 12 Sep 25Starting at $6,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Sep 25 — Friday 26 Sep 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 28 Sep 25 — Friday 10 Oct 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Oct 25 — Friday 24 Oct 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 26 Oct 25 — Friday 07 Nov 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Nov 25 — Friday 14 Nov 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Nov 25 — Friday 28 Nov 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Nov 25 — Friday 12 Dec 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 17 Dec 25 — Monday 29 Dec 25Starting at $7,150Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Jan 26 — Friday 16 Jan 26Starting at $7,550Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Feb 26 — Friday 13 Feb 26Starting at $7,550Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Mar 26 — Friday 13 Mar 26Starting at $7,975Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Mar 26 — Friday 20 Mar 26Starting at $7,975Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Mar 26 — Friday 27 Mar 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 18 Mar 26 — Monday 30 Mar 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Mar 26 — Friday 03 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 25 Mar 26 — Monday 06 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 29 Mar 26 — Friday 10 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 01 Apr 26 — Monday 13 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Apr 26 — Friday 17 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Apr 26 — Friday 24 Apr 26Starting at $7,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Konnichiwa Tokyo
Your in-depth exploration of Japan begins in Tokyo. On arrival at Narita or Haneda Airport, take a shuttle bus transfer to your centrally located hotel, where you’ll join your Travel Director and fellow guests for a Welcome drink and local appetizers.

Explore Vibrant Tokyo
We launch our city tour in the old-time entertainment center of Asakusa, where we’ll encounter the Sensoji Buddhist Temple. One of Tokyo's most colorful and popular temples, Sensoji has been rebuilt countless times since it was founded in 628, making it Tokyo's oldest temple site. Strolling down Nakamise next, we immerse ourselves in the sights and sounds of shitamachi (downtown Tokyo), admiring the wooden dolls, colorful chiyogami (origami paper) and traditional Japanese sweets. We’ll ascend Tokyo Skytree, the world's highest free-standing broadcasting tower for panoramic views of the city.

Off to the Five Lakes District
Our first stop today is the Imperial Palace Plaza from where the two bridges that form the entrance to the inner grounds of the Imperial Palace can be viewed. We'll have the opportunity to explore the leafy Imperial Palace East Gardens before continuing our city tour. At the Tokyo National Museum browse collections of Japanese art, then continue to the Ginza district where we’ll learn how to make sushi with a professional sushi chef. We venture to the Five Lakes District next, keeping a keen eye out for the UNESCO listed Mt. Fuji which dominates the landscape.

Majestic Mt. Fuji and Timeless Takayama
Visit Oshino Hakkai, a small rural village in the Fuji Five Lakes district, renowned for eight natural spring water ponds that are fed by melted snow from Mt. Fuji. Admire the reflections of the sky and landscapes in its clear waters, then ascend Mt. Fuji by road to 2,300 meters at the 5th station. Ride up Mt. Tenjo on the Kachikachiyama Ropeway next, for jaw-dropping views (weather permitting) of Mt. Fuji and Lake Kawaguchiko. Then, journey through the Japanese Alps to the beautiful hillside town of Takayama, before enjoying dinner at the hotel.

Experience Gokayama and on to Kanazawa Dive Into Culture Make Travel Matter
Immerse yourself in tradition as you walk through the Edo-style streets of Takayama's Old Town. Indulge a lunch of Japanese Hida-gyu – beef from a black-haired Japanese cattle breed, renowned as one of the finest quality varieties of beef. Journey back in time this afternoon during a visit to the peaceful UNESCO-listed Gokayama, a mountain village set amidst five valleys. Admire the unique construction of the local Gassho-zukuri wooden houses that have been built without the use of nails with steeply sloped thatched roofs to prevent snow from building up on them. Meet with a local family in one of these houses. Observe local artisans making washi paper and try your hand at making your own. Make a difference to the sustainability of this small business during MAKE TRAVEL MATTER® Experience. Stay overnight in Kanazawa.

Traditional Kanazawa
Join a Local Specialist this morning to learn the secrets of painting gold leaf, a delicate craft the Japanese have been perfecting since the 16th century. Continue to the tranquil gardens of Kenrokuen, which took shape over a hundred years to emerge as one of Japan’s most beautiful gardens. Connecting with your exquisite natural surrounds, you’ll stroll through ornate landscapes and past ponds and temples. Take a short walk through the Omicho market next to see the local fish catch and enjoy an insider’s view of everyday life in a busy coastal town. Then, visit the Nagamachi District with its beautifully preserved samurai houses that line the traditional stone streets. Here you will gain first-hand insights into samurai life during a visit to the Nomura house, an elegant samurai mansion.

Onwards to Kyoto Connect with Locals
We board an Express train this morning to Kyoto. We’ll Connect With Locals at a traditional ryokan and enjoy a Be My Guest lunch, learning about local Japanese customs from our hosts. After lunch, we visit the UNESCO-listed Kinkakuji Temple with its famous Kinkaku (Golden Pavilion), the proud symbol of Kyoto and a Zen temple, which has its origins as a 14th-century villa.

Discover Enchanting Kyoto
The blazing orange torii gates of Fushimi Inari Shrine guide our path through the forest, up into the mountains and to a sacred site that has heard prayers for prosperity and happiness since the 8th century. We continue to Sanjusangen-do Hall and admire the minute detail of each of its 1,001 “thousand-handed” goddesses of mercy statues, then enjoy a walking tour of the Gion area. This evening, we indulge in a Farewell Dinner with your Travel Director and fellow guests.

Cross the Seto Inland Sea to Awaji Island Stays With Stories
This morning we leave Japan’s main island Honshu behind, crossing the world’s largest suspension bridge over the Seto Inland Sea to Awaji Island. Enjoy free time for lunch, then take a walk around Yumebutai, a complex of buildings built on the side of the mountain. One of the most striking features is the ‘100 Stepped Garden’ — a group of 100 flowerbeds in small square gardens on an incline and arranged in grids spread over several levels. Visit the Water Temple and admire the reflection of the surrounding mountains, rice paddies and bamboo groves as you descend the steps to the Buddhist temple beneath its still waters. Journey to the small mountain hot springs village of Kotohira where our accommodation tonight is one of Trafalgar's Stays With Stories - a traditional Japanese ryokan. We’ll have some time this evening to climb the steps adjacent to the hotel to visit Kotohira-gu Shrine and be rewarded with breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. Later perhaps take a relaxing soak in the onsen (hot spring) bath at our hotel.

Spiritual Kotohira and Onwards to Hiroshima
This morning visit the Zentsuji Temple, birthplace of one of the most revered figures of Japanese Buddhism, the high priest Kobo Daishi. It is the 75th temple on the 88 temple Shikoku Pilgrimage, which covers approximately 1,200 kilometers and was traditionally done on foot taking up to 60 days to complete. It is still done by many people today although modern pilgrims use cars, taxis, buses, bicycles or motorcycles. Continue to Omishima Island and make a stop at a local restaurant for lunch. Drive to Hiroshima via the Setouchi Shimanami Kaido Expressway, a 60-kilometer highway that links the islands of the Seto Inland Sea with nine individual bridges. Check into your hotel for a relaxing evening.

Set Sail for Miyajima Island Dive Into Culture
We travel by ferry to the sacred Miyajima Island, where we’ll see the famous UNESCO-listed Itsukushima Shrine and elaborate torii gate that stands majestically in the sea. After some free time for lunch and to explore the island’s spiritual sanctuaries, we return to Hiroshima for a visit to the Peace Memorial Park and Museum. Imagine the devastation and horror that followed the world’s first atomic explosion in 1945 as you see the UNESCO-listed Peace Memorial, the only structure left standing in the area and an expression of hope for world peace. This evening, we’ll indulge in Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki, a savory pancake made with egg, cabbage, soba noodles, and meat, seafood or cheese, grilled in layers on a hot plate.

High Speed Bullet Train to Osaka
Board the high-speed bullet train to Osaka this morning and enjoy some free time for lunch and shopping in the Dotonbori Street area. Visit Osaka Castle, which played a major role in the unification of Japan during the sixteenth century. This evening, join your Travel Director and fellow guests for a Farewell Dinner at a local restaurant.

Sayonara Osaka
Our encounter with Japan’s centuries-old traditions and modern cityscapes at its end, take a transfer by airport shuttle service to Kansai International Airport, or Osaka Itami Airport for your onward flight.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.