Treasures of Thailand

Trafalgar Tours perhaps offers the most variety of guided tours in the World. While some believe Trafalgar only features guided tours of Europe the Trafalgar Tours guided tour brochures feature escorted tours throughout the World. An all time favorite every year is the Trafalgar Tours Italy collection. Italy Tours have ranked #1 every year. Trafalgar group tours are available in Europe, Italy, South America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Pavlus Travel discounts the retail price of all Trafalgar Tours from brochures prices. As one of the largest seller of Trafalgar in the World, Pavlus guarantees you the lowest Trafalgar prices.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Treasures of Thailand



Tour Description:

A journey from the colorful streets of Bangkok to the sacred spaces of Chiang Mai. You’ll visit the terracotta-colored ancient ruins of Ayutthaya and enjoy a northern Thai-style lunch with a family in their wooden stilt house.

Map for Treasures of Thailand
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 07 Jul 24 — Wednesday 17 Jul 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Aug 24 — Wednesday 14 Aug 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Sep 24 — Wednesday 11 Sep 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Sep 24 — Wednesday 18 Sep 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Sep 24 — Wednesday 02 Oct 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Oct 24 — Wednesday 16 Oct 24Starting at $3,884Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 10 Nov 24 — Wednesday 20 Nov 24Starting at $4,016Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Dec 24 — Wednesday 11 Dec 24Starting at $4,016Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Dec 24 — Wednesday 25 Dec 24Starting at $4,076Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Jan 25 — Wednesday 15 Jan 25Starting at $5,003Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Feb 25 — Wednesday 19 Feb 25Starting at $5,003Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Mar 25 — Wednesday 12 Mar 25Starting at $5,003Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Mar 25 — Wednesday 26 Mar 25Starting at $5,003Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Mar 25 — Wednesday 09 Apr 25Starting at $5,003Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Apr 25 — Wednesday 23 Apr 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 27 Apr 25 — Wednesday 07 May 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 11 May 25 — Wednesday 21 May 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Jun 25 — Wednesday 25 Jun 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Jul 25 — Wednesday 16 Jul 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Aug 25 — Wednesday 13 Aug 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Aug 25 — Wednesday 10 Sep 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Sep 25 — Wednesday 17 Sep 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 21 Sep 25 — Wednesday 01 Oct 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Oct 25 — Wednesday 15 Oct 25Starting at $4,948Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Nov 25 — Wednesday 19 Nov 25Starting at $5,025Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Nov 25 — Wednesday 10 Dec 25Starting at $5,025Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Dec 25 — Wednesday 24 Dec 25Starting at $5,025Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Welcome to Bangkok
Say sawadee ka to the land of smiles, starting your Thai adventure in Bangkok. Transfer to your hotel where this evening, we meet our Travel Director and fellow guests for a Welcome Reception drink with local appetizers.

See the Sights of Bangkok Dive Into Culture
Rise early and join the locals for a graceful T’ai Chi practice in Lumpini Park to kick-start your day. Alternatively, enjoy a leisurely start before joining your fellow travelers on a City Tour, which begins with a visit to Bangkok’s Grand Palace, where you’ll visit the most sacred Buddhist temple in Thailand, Wat Phra Kaew. See the largest-reclining Buddha in Thailand in Bangkok’s oldest temple, Wat Pho, and enjoy a traditional Thai massage in the temple’s massage center. Return to your hotel by express river boat, cruising down the Chao Praya past beautiful Wat Arun, the Temple of the Dawn.

Thai Cuisine and Cooking Experience Dive Into Culture
Immerse your senses in the five flavors of Thai cuisine as you join a Local Specialist for a traditional cooking class in a colonial-style house. Visit a local market nearby to source the freshest ingredients that reveal the sweet, sour, salty, bitter and hot flavors of Thai cuisine. Sample the results later, then spend the afternoon exploring the City of Angels on your terms, or consider joining an Optional Experience to Jim Thompson's House, home to an impressive collection of Asian art.

Onwards to Damnoen Saduak and Kanchanaburi Dive Into Culture
A riot of colors greets us this morning as we embark on a visit to the famous floating market at Damnoen Saduak. Connect with the friendly merchants who paddle along the congested canals in their sturdy canoes, laden with fresh fruit and vegetables to sell to shoppers on the banks. En route, we’ll Dive Into Culture, stopping at a coconut palm sugar plantation where we’ll discover how the farmer extracts the sap from his palm trees to create palm sugar. After lunch in a local restaurant, visit the world famous Bridge over the River Kwai. After a walk along the bridge continue to the Thailand-Burma Railway Museum, revealing insights into the history of the infamous railway line built during WWII by the Imperial Japanese army. Our final stop today sees us pay tribute to the thousands of allied prisoners of war who were laid to rest at the War Cemetery.

Railways and Rivers in Kanchanaburi
This morning, we visit Hellfire Pass, a section of the Thailand-Burma “Death Railway”, so named for the tortuous conditions that prisoners of war endured during WWII to build it. After lunch, we embark on a thrilling train ride across wooden viaducts, skirting the winding waters of the Kwai River. We’ll disembark and see the wooden viaducts first-hand walking across one. This evening, we enjoy dinner at a local restaurant.

On to Ancient Ayutthaya and Sukhothai
After breakfast, we travel to the UNESCO-listed Ayutthaya, once the second-most important ancient capital of Old Siam and the largest city in the world. Here, we’ll delve into the trading heritage of a mighty city that was all but raised to the ground by an 18th century Burmese invasion. We’ll enjoy lunch at a local restaurant, then return to Bangkok for our flight to Sukhothai, Thailand’s first capital.

Explore Sukhothai
Gain insights into a powerful kingdom that enjoyed its golden age during the 13th and 14th centuries and shaped modern Thailand as we know it today. Start the day with a visit to the UNESCO-listed Sukhothai Historical Park which reveals thousands of years of history and a 15-meter seated Buddha secreted within its walls. Your choice of exploring will see you engage with the historic complex by bicycle or on the internal tram. This afternoon, visit the home of a local family and learn how to make amulets which are thought to protect the owner from harm.

Continue to Chiang Mai Make Travel Matter
Our day begins with a visit to the first of our MAKE TRAVEL MATTER® experiences today at the village of Natonchan, where our visit supports the community’s eco-tourism project . We’ll interact with the locals and meet one of the villagers to learn about 'gymnastic doll' making and the villagers’ traditional cotton clothes which are soaked in mud to protect them from fading. Arriving in Chiang Mai, we enjoy an evening walk with our Travel Director and visit the colorful Sunday market. Our hotel tonight is located in the old town of Chiang Mai.

Meet the locals of Northern Thailand Dive Into Culture
Admire the delicate hand-painted fans and colorful paper umbrellas that are famously crafted in Chiang Mai’s San Kamphaeng district. We continue to a small village nearby where we’ll Connect with Locals, joining a family in their typical stilt house for a northern Thai-style Be My Guest lunch. Next is a visit to Wat Suan Dok where we’ll meet a local monk and learn about Buddhism, against the backdrop of the temple’s magnificent golden chedi.

A Day to Discover Chiang Mai
Your morning is free to spend as you please. Later, we visit Wat Doi Suthep, one of Thailand's most sacred temples. As the sun sets over this mystical temple, listen quietly to the tranquil sounds of the monks chanting. This evening, we join fellow travelers and Travel Director for a Farewell Dinner at a traditional Thai restaurant located next to the river.

Farewell Thailand
Our exhilarating encounter with old Siam and new Thailand at its end, we take a transfer to Chiang Mai International Airport for your onward flight.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.