Climb Kilimanjaro: Summiting the Machame Route

People ask is A&K the same company as Abercrombie and Kent? The answer is yes. Geoffrey Kent founded Abercrombie and Kent in Africa in 1962. The Kent family introduced luxury African Safari travel then over the years then expanded to all seven continents. A&K now offers luxury Expedition Cruising, Private Jet Travel Around the World, outstanding African expeditions to the last Continent of Antarctica. Pavlus Travel is a leader in providing the lowest prices for all A & K travel Worldwide travel be it a Tanzania Safari or any of their luxury European tours.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Climb Kilimanjaro: Summiting the Machame Route



Tour Description:

Ascend the tallest freestanding mountain in
the world alongside the team with the best
summit rate on Kilimanjaro, viewing breathtaking,
lava-forged landscapes en route to achieving a
once-in-a-lifetime goal.

Map for Climb Kilimanjaro: Summiting the Machame Route
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Tuesday 05 Jul 22 — Wednesday 13 Jul 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 02 Aug 22 — Wednesday 10 Aug 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 16 Aug 22 — Wednesday 24 Aug 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 13 Sep 22 — Wednesday 21 Sep 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 11 Oct 22 — Wednesday 19 Oct 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 08 Nov 22 — Wednesday 16 Nov 22Starting at $7,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 24 Jan 23 — Wednesday 01 Feb 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 07 Feb 23 — Wednesday 15 Feb 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 07 Mar 23 — Wednesday 15 Mar 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 16 May 23 — Wednesday 24 May 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 13 Jun 23 — Wednesday 21 Jun 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 04 Jul 23 — Wednesday 12 Jul 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 08 Aug 23 — Wednesday 16 Aug 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 15 Aug 23 — Wednesday 23 Aug 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 29 Aug 23 — Wednesday 06 Sep 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 12 Sep 23 — Wednesday 20 Sep 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 19 Sep 23 — Wednesday 27 Sep 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 03 Oct 23 — Wednesday 11 Oct 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 07 Nov 23 — Wednesday 15 Nov 23Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Day 1 - Arrive Arusha, Tanzania
Arrive in Arusha and transfer to your hotel. Enjoy a good night’s rest as one of only 12 guests on this epic journey.

Day 2 - Arusha
In preparation for the climb ahead, acclimatize as you walk through Arusha National Park. Situated between the peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru, this scenic park houses a wide range of habitats, from its string of crater lakes populated by waterfowl, to its highland montane forest and imposing summit views. The forest harbors a wealth of wildlife, including frolicking black-and-white colobus monkeys and regal bushbucks. This evening, sit down to a welcome dinner with fellow guests.

Day 3 - Mount Kilimanjaro
Drive from Arusha to the Machame village on the slopes of Mount Kilimanjaro to begin your climb along the challenging and scenic Machame Route. Hike for about six hours through dense rubber-tree and giant-fig forests to your camp, set up near huts once used for shelter. As you make your way up through the forested terrain, keep an eye out for elephants. Settle into your first camp, poised at an altitude of 10,000 feet.

Day 4 - Mount Kilimanjaro
Awake early to a piping-hot cup of coffee or tea. As you leave camp, absorb the commanding view of Uhuru Peak. Trek out of the forest up to the hagenia zone, through a savanna of tall grasses and haunting volcanic lava landscapes. After a six-hour hike, arrive at the Shira Plateau and your camp. At 12,500 feet, it boasts sweeping views across the Masai Steppe to distant Mount Meru and the Shira Needles.

Day 5 - Mount Kilimanjaro
During a six-hour hike, skirt the Shira Plateau toward the Kibo Massif, continuing upward to the pass at Lava Tower (15,000 feet). Descend toward Barranco Camp through the immense, waterfall-punctuated Grand Barranco canyon, which is fed by streams from the Umbwe River. Today’s camp is situated at an elevation of 13,000 feet.

Day 6 - Mount Kilimanjaro
Hike for about five hours along the Barranco Cliff with no increase in elevation. This allows you time to rest and adjust to the increasingly higher altitudes. In the afternoon, you may hike in the Karanga Valley set beneath the icefalls of the Heim, Decken and Kersten glaciers.

Day 7 - Mount Kilimanjaro
Take a four- to five-hour trek on another day of acclimatization as you near the mountain’s peak, stopping at Barafu Camp (15,200 feet) on a moraine, with views of majestic Mawenzi Peak to the right and looming Kibo Peak overhead. The surrounding, scenic alpine desert terrain is largely mineral and features some lichens and moss. Turn in early this evening — tomorrow, you make an early start for the summit.

Day 8 - Mount Kilimanjaro
Rise very early to a hot cup of coffee or tea before setting out on approximately 13 hours of trekking today. Should all go as planned, you will stand at the highest point in Africa in about seven hours’ time. Make your way up a winding path flanked by the towering Ratzel and Rebmann glaciers to soaring Stella Point, at 18,630 feet on the rim of Kibo Crater. As the sun rises, continue around the rim to Uhuru Peak (19,341 feet), the highest point in Africa, where the air is rarefied. Savor your achievement of summiting Mount Kilimanjaro, and then descend to your last campsite (10,200 feet).

Day 9 - Depart Arusha
Continue your descent to the base of the mountain, where your A&K driver greets and transports you back to Arusha. During a farewell lunch, enjoy basking in your accomplishments with fellow guests. Comfortable dayrooms are provided until your departure flight.