Egypt & the Nile

People ask is A&K the same company as Abercrombie and Kent? The answer is yes. Geoffrey Kent founded Abercrombie and Kent in Africa in 1962. The Kent family introduced luxury African Safari travel then over the years then expanded to all seven continents. A&K now offers luxury Expedition Cruising, Private Jet Travel Around the World, outstanding African expeditions to the last Continent of Antarctica. Pavlus Travel is a leader in providing the lowest prices for all A & K travel Worldwide travel be it a Tanzania Safari or any of their luxury European tours.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Egypt & the Nile



Tour Description:

Bask in the timeless majesty of ancient Egypt on an
immersive journey through the land of the pharaohs,
exploring its quintessential archaeological treasures
with an expert A&K Egyptologist, and cruise for
four nights along the Nile aboard stylish
‘Sanctuary Sun Boat IV.’

Map for Egypt & the Nile
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Saturday 03 Sep 22 — Monday 12 Sep 22Starting at $7,795 Get a Quote
Wednesday 07 Sep 22 — Friday 16 Sep 22Starting at $7,595 Get a Quote
Sunday 11 Sep 22 — Tuesday 20 Sep 22Starting at $7,795 Get a Quote
Thursday 15 Sep 22 — Saturday 24 Sep 22Starting at $7,595 Get a Quote
Monday 19 Sep 22 — Wednesday 28 Sep 22Starting at $7,795 Get a Quote
Friday 23 Sep 22 — Sunday 02 Oct 22Starting at $7,595 Get a Quote
Tuesday 27 Sep 22 — Thursday 06 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 01 Oct 22 — Monday 10 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Wednesday 05 Oct 22 — Friday 14 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 09 Oct 22 — Tuesday 18 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Thursday 13 Oct 22 — Saturday 22 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Monday 17 Oct 22 — Wednesday 26 Oct 22Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Friday 21 Oct 22 — Sunday 30 Oct 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Tuesday 25 Oct 22 — Thursday 03 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 29 Oct 22 — Monday 07 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Wednesday 02 Nov 22 — Friday 11 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 06 Nov 22 — Tuesday 15 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Thursday 10 Nov 22 — Saturday 19 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Monday 14 Nov 22 — Wednesday 23 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Friday 18 Nov 22 — Sunday 27 Nov 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Wednesday 30 Nov 22 — Friday 09 Dec 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Sunday 04 Dec 22 — Tuesday 13 Dec 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Thursday 08 Dec 22 — Saturday 17 Dec 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Monday 12 Dec 22 — Wednesday 21 Dec 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Friday 16 Dec 22 — Sunday 25 Dec 22Starting at $8,195 Get a Quote
Tuesday 20 Dec 22 — Thursday 29 Dec 22Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 01 Jan 23 — Tuesday 10 Jan 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 09 Jan 23 — Wednesday 18 Jan 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Friday 13 Jan 23 — Sunday 22 Jan 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 17 Jan 23 — Thursday 26 Jan 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 21 Jan 23 — Monday 30 Jan 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 25 Jan 23 — Friday 03 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 29 Jan 23 — Tuesday 07 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 02 Feb 23 — Saturday 11 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 06 Feb 23 — Wednesday 15 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Friday 10 Feb 23 — Sunday 19 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 14 Feb 23 — Thursday 23 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 18 Feb 23 — Monday 27 Feb 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 22 Feb 23 — Friday 03 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 26 Feb 23 — Tuesday 07 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 02 Mar 23 — Saturday 11 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 06 Mar 23 — Wednesday 15 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 14 Mar 23 — Thursday 23 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 18 Mar 23 — Monday 27 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 22 Mar 23 — Friday 31 Mar 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 26 Mar 23 — Tuesday 04 Apr 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 30 Mar 23 — Saturday 08 Apr 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 03 Apr 23 — Wednesday 12 Apr 23Starting at $10,495 Get a Quote
Friday 07 Apr 23 — Sunday 16 Apr 23Starting at $10,495 Get a Quote
Tuesday 11 Apr 23 — Thursday 20 Apr 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 15 Apr 23 — Monday 24 Apr 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 19 Apr 23 — Friday 28 Apr 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 23 Apr 23 — Tuesday 02 May 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 27 Apr 23 — Saturday 06 May 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Monday 01 May 23 — Wednesday 10 May 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Wednesday 30 Aug 23 — Friday 08 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Sunday 03 Sep 23 — Tuesday 12 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Thursday 07 Sep 23 — Saturday 16 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Monday 11 Sep 23 — Wednesday 20 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Friday 15 Sep 23 — Sunday 24 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Tuesday 19 Sep 23 — Thursday 28 Sep 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Saturday 23 Sep 23 — Monday 02 Oct 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Wednesday 27 Sep 23 — Friday 06 Oct 23Starting at $8,395 Get a Quote
Sunday 01 Oct 23 — Tuesday 10 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 05 Oct 23 — Saturday 14 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 09 Oct 23 — Wednesday 18 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Friday 13 Oct 23 — Sunday 22 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 17 Oct 23 — Thursday 26 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 21 Oct 23 — Monday 30 Oct 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 25 Oct 23 — Friday 03 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 29 Oct 23 — Tuesday 07 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 02 Nov 23 — Saturday 11 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 06 Nov 23 — Wednesday 15 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Friday 10 Nov 23 — Sunday 19 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 14 Nov 23 — Thursday 23 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 18 Nov 23 — Monday 27 Nov 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 22 Nov 23 — Friday 01 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Sunday 26 Nov 23 — Tuesday 05 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Thursday 30 Nov 23 — Saturday 09 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Monday 04 Dec 23 — Wednesday 13 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Friday 08 Dec 23 — Sunday 17 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Tuesday 12 Dec 23 — Thursday 21 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Saturday 16 Dec 23 — Monday 25 Dec 23Starting at $8,995 Get a Quote
Wednesday 20 Dec 23 — Friday 29 Dec 23Starting at $10,495 Get a Quote
Sunday 24 Dec 23 — Tuesday 02 Jan 24Starting at $10,495 Get a Quote
Thursday 28 Dec 23 — Saturday 06 Jan 24Starting at $10,495 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Day 1 - Arrive Cairo, Egypt
Arrive in Cairo, where you are met by your A&K representative and transferred to your historic hotel ideally situated just moments from the last remaining Ancient Wonder of the World - the Great Pyramid of Giza.

Day 2 - Cairo
This morning, join your expert A&K Egyptologist for an exploration of the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities (or the Grand Egyptian Museum, upon its opening) to view its huge collection of ancient Egyptian artifacts. Tonight, gather with your fellow guests for a welcome dinner.

Day 3 - Giza
Today, roam the Giza Plateau, site of the pyramids of Mycerinus and Chephren as well as the Great Pyramid. Built in the Fourth Dynasty (approximately 2690 BC), it is the only survivor of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Revel in the opportunity to enter the interior of one of these legendary structures, and marvel at the massive stones used to construct them. Ride a camel across the sands of Giza, and then view the Great Sphinx backdropped by the pyramids, a setting that has captured the imaginations of adventurers for centuries.

Day 4 - Luxor
Fly to Luxor, site of the ancient city of Thebes. Begin your full day of exploring by visiting the striking Temple of Luxor. View the three large statues of Ramses II along the front of the temple pylons, the Courtyard of Ramses II and the Colonnade of Amenhotep III, with its 50-foot-high columns. Walk in their shadows, as visitors have done since antiquity, and ponder the astonishing feats of engineering it took to create them. Then, step aboard ‘Sanctuary Sun Boat IV,’ an elegant river cruiser renowned for the warmth and attentiveness of its service staff. Enjoy lunch on board before disembarking to explore the west bank of the Nile river and the Necropolis of Thebes, and view the Colossi of Memnon. Next, arrive at the architecturally stunning Temple of Hatshepsut, ancient Egypt’s first female pharaoh and regarded today as one of its most successful. Continue to the Valley of the Kings, burial ground of the pharaohs and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For a period of 500 years beginning in the 16th century BC, tombs were built along this valley for pharaohs and nobles, including that of “the boy king,” Tutankhamun. Enter the tomb of Tutankhamun — found in 1922 by British archaeologist and Egyptologist Howard Carter — to discover the secrets of this storied chamber. Next, descend into the beautifully decorated tomb of Seti I, the father of Ramses II, one of the best-preserved tombs in the valley.

Day 5 - Cruising the Nile
Journey once more to the east bank of the Nile, this time visiting the Temple of Karnak, where generations of pharaohs wished to record their names. Walk through the Great Hypostyle Hall, strolling among its expertly aligned columns, which soar 80 feet high. This afternoon, cruise to Esna and visit the Temple of Khnum to marvel at its superb art and hieroglyphics.

Day 6 - Cruising the Nile
Today, view the Temple of Horus, falcon-headed god of the sky. Built in 230 BC by Ptolemy III, this amazingly well-preserved and colorful structure reveals what temple worship in ancient Egypt was like. Back on board, learn to prepare local dishes on an authentic Chef ’s Table experience: a cooking lesson with an onboard chef. Later this afternoon, enjoy a refreshing Scenic Sundowner as you cruise to Kom Ombo. Disembark at Kom Ombo (hill of gold) to visit the Greco-Roman temple dedicated to Haroeris (the sun god) and Sobek (the crocodile god), whom some ancient Egyptians considered the creator of the world. View the mummified remains of several crocodiles that once basked along the ancient Nile shore, just as their descendants do today.

Day 7 - Aswan
Cruise to Aswan and ride a motorized boat to Philae Temple on the island of Agilika. A sacred complex dedicated to the goddess Isis that reflects a fusion of three great civilizations, Egyptian, Greek and Roman, it was dismantled, moved and reassembled when the Aswan High Dam was constructed. Proceed to the granite quarries and site of the Unfinished Obelisk. Illustrating the skills of Egypt’s stonemasons, this monolith is taller than any other ancient Egyptian obelisk. Later, Ride Like a Local around the Aswan Islands in a felucca (traditional sailboat).

Day 8 - Abu Simbel
Today, bid farewell to ‘Sanctuary Sun Boat IV,’ disembarking to fly to Abu Simbel and discover the commanding twin temples of Ramses II and his wife, Queen Nefertari. The former’s façade is dominated by four 70-foot-tall statues of the pharaoh. Perhaps even more impressive, this entire site was disassembled and moved here to save it from the floodwaters caused by the Aswan High Dam. Return to Cairo for an evening at leisure.

Day 9 - Cairo
Drive to Sakkara, site of hundreds of tombs and 14 pyramids, including the famous Step Pyramid of Djoser. After lunch, enjoy one of these Design Your Day activities: Discover Coptic Cairo, visiting a church built where the Holy Family stayed, as well as ancient Ben Ezra Synagogue (subject to availability). Tour Islamic Cairo, including a walk in El-Moaz Street, and the Khan el-Khalili Bazaar. View the Royal Mummies, and countless other artifacts, as you tour the National Museum of Egyptian Civilization. This evening, gather with your fellow guests to reflect on your journey through Egypt and along the Nile at a farewell dinner.

Day 10 - Depart Cairo
After breakfast, transfer to the airport and depart.