Signature China & the Yangtze

People ask is A&K the same company as Abercrombie and Kent? The answer is yes. Geoffrey Kent founded Abercrombie and Kent in Africa in 1962. The Kent family introduced luxury African Safari travel then over the years then expanded to all seven continents. A&K now offers luxury Expedition Cruising, Private Jet Travel Around the World, outstanding African expeditions to the last Continent of Antarctica. Pavlus Travel is a leader in providing the lowest prices for all A & K travel Worldwide travel be it a Tanzania Safari or any of their luxury European tours.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Signature China & the Yangtze



Tour Description:

Discover China’s past and present — from historic Beijing to the bustling metropolis of Shanghai. Visit the iconic
Terra Cotta Warriors and giant pandas, and explore the storied Yangtze River on an all-balcony river cruiser.

Map for Signature China & the Yangtze
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Friday 17 Mar 23 — Wednesday 29 Mar 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 24 Mar 23 — Wednesday 05 Apr 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 31 Mar 23 — Wednesday 12 Apr 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 07 Apr 23 — Wednesday 19 Apr 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 14 Apr 23 — Wednesday 26 Apr 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 21 Apr 23 — Wednesday 03 May 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 05 May 23 — Wednesday 17 May 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 19 May 23 — Wednesday 31 May 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 02 Jun 23 — Wednesday 14 Jun 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 16 Jun 23 — Wednesday 28 Jun 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 30 Jun 23 — Wednesday 12 Jul 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 14 Jul 23 — Wednesday 26 Jul 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 04 Aug 23 — Wednesday 16 Aug 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 18 Aug 23 — Wednesday 30 Aug 23Starting at $8,695 Get a Quote
Friday 08 Sep 23 — Wednesday 20 Sep 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 22 Sep 23 — Wednesday 04 Oct 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 06 Oct 23 — Wednesday 18 Oct 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 20 Oct 23 — Wednesday 01 Nov 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote
Friday 27 Oct 23 — Wednesday 08 Nov 23Starting at $9,195 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Day 1 - Arrive Beijing, China
Arrive in the capital city and transfer to your luxurious hotel.

Day 2 - Beijing
Start the day with a tai chi class at the Temple of Heaven, a stunning example of classical Ming period architecture. Explore historic Tiananmen Square, one of the world’s largest public squares and a site of great political significance. Visit the Forbidden City, China’s former imperial palace, now a vast museum housing imperial treasures.

Day 3 - Beijing
Ride a pedicab through a hutong, a vast yet intimate neighborhood of small winding alleyways dating to China’s dynastic period. Then, travel to the well-preserved Mutianyu section of the Great Wall of China. Enjoy lunch at a local restaurant before riding a cable car to the top of the wall, where you can take in sweeping views of the surrounding mountains.

Day 4 - Xian
Fly this morning to Xian, the eastern terminus of the Great Silk Road. After lunch, walk through the Muslim Quarter and see the Great Mosque.

Day 5 - Xian
Visit the excavation site of the Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses, the life-size army created during the Qin Dynasty to protect China’s first emperor in his afterlife. Later, explore Xian’s impressive City Wall, with the option to stroll along its ramparts.

Day 6 - Chengdu
Travel by high-speed train to Chengdu. Upon arrival, enjoy a special Sichuan hot pot lunch, and then immerse yourself in local life and culture at the People’s Park where area residents play traditional Chinese instruments, practice calligraphy and engage in tai chi. The remainder of the day is yours to enjoy at leisure.

Day 7 - Chengdu & Chongqing
Visit the Chengdu Panda Breeding and Research Center, where you experience the rare opportunity to observe these endangered creatures roaming freely in their specially designed habitat. Then, travel by high-speed train to Chongqing and board your comfortable river cruiser for a three-night journey through the scenic Three Gorges region.

Day 8 - Cruising the Yangtze
Begin the day with tai chi on deck and take a private shore excursion in Fuling. Visit the 816 Nuclear Military Plant, a massive yet unfinished Cold War era bunker that was intended to produce nuclear weapons. Back on board, enjoy a Chinese medicine demonstration and a lesson on the art of Chinese foot reflexology. Tonight, attend the Captain’s Reception, followed by dinner.

Day 9 - Cruising the Yangtze
Cruise the Qutang Gorge before docking at Wushan. Disembark and take in the scenic splendor of this rugged yet lush region on an adventure among the high peaks that surround the river. In the afternoon, continue your journey downstream, passing through the majestic Wu and Xiling Gorges. Later, cruise the Xiling Gorge and savor a “Taste of China” dinner.

Day 10 - Yichang & Shanghai
This morning, disembark and stop over near the Three Gorges Dam. Following time for a photo opportunity, fly to Shanghai and transfer to your luxury hotel on the Bund. The balance of the afternoon and evening are at leisure.

Day 11 - Shanghai
Explore dynamic Shanghai, where stunning modern skylines meet classic street markets and gardens. Head to the observation deck of the Shanghai Tower, where you are treated to a bird’s-eye view of the Huangpu River, the Bund, and Shanghai’s panorama of skyscrapers. Later, enjoy one of these Design Your Day activities. Walk Shanghai’s Historic Jewish Quarter and learn how it became a haven for Jews fleeing Europe in World War II. Enjoy a Shopping Excursion to the trendy French Concession to browse the superb selection of artisan shops and navigate the maze of shikumen homes. Cycle through Pudong, exploring Shanghai's newest district filled with gleaming skyscrapers.

Day 12 - Shanghai
Today, walk along the Bund, Shanghai’s most popular promenade, and then explore the Shanghai Museum on a privately led tour accompanied by a curator, viewing exceptional collections of historically significant art and housewares, including bronzes, ceramics, jade, furniture and coins. Savor lunch at a local restaurant, and later stroll the streets of Old Town and visit the 16th-century Yu Garden, with its pavilions and ponds.

Day 13 - Depart Shanghai
After breakfast, transfer to the airport to board your departing flight.