Secrets of the Douro

Emerald Waterways reviews clearly demonstrate Emerald Waterways guests prefer sailings of 8 to 17 days. Two of the most popular guest choices are the Rhine river cruise and the Danube river cruise. So many guests of Emerald cruises enjoy the breath of destinations around the World. Of course complimentary wine and beer are chosen for each lunch and dinner. All soft drink beverages are included. Once again Emerald Waterways has won the Cruise Critic Editors pick for the best value river cruise for 2019. Pavlus Travel discounts every Emerald sailing through-out the World.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Secrets of the Douro



Tour Description:

On this 8 day roundtrip cruise from Porto, discover the Douro Valley's most inspiring destinations including Régua, Pocinho, Pinhao and stunning Salamanca.
Itinerary also travels in reverse.

Map for Secrets of the Douro
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Saturday 27 Aug 22 — Saturday 03 Sep 22Starting at $4,395 Get a Quote
Saturday 03 Sep 22 — Saturday 10 Sep 22Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 10 Sep 22 — Saturday 17 Sep 22Starting at $4,495 Get a Quote
Saturday 29 Oct 22 — Saturday 05 Nov 22Starting at $3,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 05 Nov 22 — Saturday 12 Nov 22Starting at $4,095 Get a Quote
Saturday 12 Nov 22 — Saturday 19 Nov 22Starting at $4,845 Get a Quote
Saturday 01 Apr 23 — Saturday 08 Apr 23Starting at $4,300 Get a Quote
Saturday 08 Apr 23 — Saturday 15 Apr 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 15 Apr 23 — Saturday 22 Apr 23Starting at $4,405 Get a Quote
Saturday 29 Apr 23 — Saturday 06 May 23Starting at $4,300 Get a Quote
Saturday 06 May 23 — Saturday 13 May 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 13 May 23 — Saturday 20 May 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 27 May 23 — Saturday 03 Jun 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 03 Jun 23 — Saturday 10 Jun 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 10 Jun 23 — Saturday 17 Jun 23Starting at $4,700 Get a Quote
Saturday 17 Jun 23 — Saturday 24 Jun 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 24 Jun 23 — Saturday 01 Jul 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 01 Jul 23 — Saturday 08 Jul 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 08 Jul 23 — Saturday 15 Jul 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 15 Jul 23 — Saturday 22 Jul 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 22 Jul 23 — Saturday 29 Jul 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 29 Jul 23 — Saturday 05 Aug 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 05 Aug 23 — Saturday 12 Aug 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 12 Aug 23 — Saturday 19 Aug 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 19 Aug 23 — Saturday 26 Aug 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 09 Sep 23 — Saturday 16 Sep 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 16 Sep 23 — Saturday 23 Sep 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 23 Sep 23 — Saturday 30 Sep 23Starting at $4,595 Get a Quote
Saturday 30 Sep 23 — Saturday 07 Oct 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 14 Oct 23 — Saturday 21 Oct 23Starting at $4,195 Get a Quote
Saturday 28 Oct 23 — Saturday 04 Nov 23Starting at $3,695 Get a Quote
Saturday 04 Nov 23 — Saturday 11 Nov 23Starting at $3,695 Get a Quote
Saturday 11 Nov 23 — Saturday 18 Nov 23Starting at $3,695 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Porto
Welcome to Porto, where you will be met at the airport and transferred to your contemporary Emerald Radiance Star-Ship. This evening, join your fellow guests for dinner on board.

Porto – Pinhão
Relax on board today and enjoy a full day of sailing through the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Douro Valley. This fascinating area is celebrated because it builds on two millennia of wine producing history, where viticulture has shaped the surrounding landscape and small, sleepy villages are peppered with dozens of sun-drenched vineyards.  Tonight, enjoy a welcome dinner and cocktail reception. EmeraldPLUS Portuguese cooking demonstration on board

Pinhão – Vega de Terrón
Begin your day with a visit to the beautiful Quinta do Tedo vineyard in the heart of Portugal’s Douro Valley, nestled on the confluence of the Douro and Tedo rivers. This 18th-century estate is environmentally sound, creating organic produce by using traditional viticulture methods.  Alternatively, enjoy a guided walk through local vineyards, stopping along the way to admire your surroundings. Or, embark on a kayak excursion along the river, taking in the impressive views from the heart of the Douro Valley.  This afternoon, enjoy sailing to Vega de Terrón, perhaps relaxing on the Sun Deck EmeraldACTIVE Kayak experience in Pinhão EmeraldACTIVE Guided active walk through the vineyards Included Excursion Visit to Quinta do Tedo with tasting

Vega de Terrón – Salamanca
Founded in Roman times, the ancient city of Salamanca and its UNESCO World Heritage-listed old quarter have an illustrious past, having been held by the Carthaginians, Romans and Moors.  Travel to the beautiful golden city for a walking tour, starting with the postcard-worthy galleries and arcades that adorn Plaza Mayor. You’ll also have the opportunity to see Casa de las Conchas, a building that has been lovingly decorated with more than 300 shells. EmeraldPLUS Tuna music band Included Excursion Guided tour of Salamanca DiscoverMORE Castelo Rodrigo tour (extra expense)

Pocinho – Régua
This morning, you’ll arrive in Pocinho where you’ll have the opportunity to visit the Côa Valley Museum. Later, return to your ship for lunch and soak up your idyllic surrounds, enjoying a Port wine cocktail lesson on boards as you sail towards Régua. This evening, a rural dinner at a wine estate is certain to be one of the highlights of your trip. EmeraldPLUS Port wine cocktail lesson on board  EmeraldPLUS Rural dinner at Quinta da Pacheca Included Excursion Visit to the Côa Valley Museum DiscoverMORE Archaeological tour by 4x4 at the C?a Valley Museum (extra expense)

Régua
Today, on an included excursion, you will visit the marvellous Baroque village of Lamego, stopping to see the picturesque Shrine of Our Lady of Remedies, a structure that stands gracefully over the town EmeraldPLUS Mosaic tile painting lesson on board EmeraldACTIVE Walk down the steps of the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Remedies Included Excursion Guided tour of Lamego DiscoverMORE Visit to Mateus Manor House (extra expense)

Porto
Located at the mouth of the Douro River, Porto is a fascinating eclectic mix of modern and ancient architecture. Famous for its export of Port wines, it’s easy to imagine how British merchant ships would have once clustered together in the medieval harbour, waiting to take their produce across the water.  Your included tour of the coastal city will touch on the fortified structures of Castelo da Foz and Castelo do Queijo, a building whose pentagonal façades overlook the ocean. This evening, enjoy a charming evening cruise that will shine a different light on Portos skyline. EmeraldPLUS Evening cruise through Porto EmeraldACTIVE Guided active walk in Porto Included Excursion Guided tour of Porto DiscoverMORE Visit to Quinta da Aveleda (extra expense) DiscoverMORE Guided bike tour to the Atlantic (extra expense)

Porto
After breakfast, it’s time to say farewell to your fellow guests, taking memories of sun-drenched vineyards with you. This itinerary is a guide only and may be amended for operational reasons such as high and low water. As such, the cruise may operate altered from that stated above. Please refer to our terms and conditions for further information.