Morocco: Sahara & Beyond

Just for you, discounts on every G Adventure product. Savings up to $2,500 depending on the G Adventure you purchase. One thing for sure, Pavlus Travel guarantees you the absolute lowest price for every G Adventure Tour. No joke, we're a leader in marketing G Adventures. Don't let this deal slip away, simply call 800.528.9300 to book for real savings.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Morocco: Sahara & Beyond



Tour Description:

Discover the rich cultural heritage of Morocco, where many distinct peoples have left their indelible mark—from ancient Romans to the Arabs to the French–and encounter the living legacy of North Africa’s indigenous Amazigh, or Berbers. Explore the atmospheric souks of Marrakech and Fez, witnessing age-old crafts like damascening and hand-painted ceramics; venture to the ancient adobe village of Aït Ben Haddou, used as a filming location for many Hollywood productions; and enjoy lunch with an Amazigh family in a small oasis village. Then head to Essaouria, the windy Atlantic city that was a onetime haven for pirates—and now musicians.

Map for Morocco: Sahara & Beyond
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 08 Sep 24 — Sunday 22 Sep 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Sep 24 — Sunday 29 Sep 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Sep 24 — Sunday 06 Oct 24Starting at $2,849Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 03 Oct 24 — Thursday 17 Oct 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Oct 24 — Thursday 24 Oct 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Oct 24 — Sunday 27 Oct 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 20 Oct 24 — Sunday 03 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 27 Oct 24 — Sunday 10 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Nov 24 — Sunday 17 Nov 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 10 Nov 24 — Sunday 24 Nov 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 24 Nov 24 — Sunday 08 Dec 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Dec 24 — Sunday 29 Dec 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Jan 25 — Sunday 19 Jan 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Jan 25 — Sunday 26 Jan 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 19 Jan 25 — Sunday 02 Feb 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Feb 25 — Sunday 16 Feb 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Feb 25 — Sunday 23 Feb 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Feb 25 — Sunday 02 Mar 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Mar 25 — Sunday 16 Mar 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Mar 25 — Sunday 23 Mar 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Mar 25 — Sunday 30 Mar 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 23 Mar 25 — Sunday 06 Apr 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Mar 25 — Sunday 13 Apr 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Apr 25 — Sunday 20 Apr 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Apr 25 — Sunday 27 Apr 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 20 Apr 25 — Sunday 04 May 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 27 Apr 25 — Sunday 11 May 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 May 25 — Sunday 18 May 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 11 May 25 — Sunday 25 May 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 18 May 25 — Sunday 01 Jun 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 25 May 25 — Sunday 08 Jun 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Jun 25 — Sunday 15 Jun 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Jun 25 — Sunday 22 Jun 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Aug 25 — Sunday 14 Sep 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Sep 25 — Sunday 21 Sep 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Sep 25 — Sunday 28 Sep 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 21 Sep 25 — Sunday 05 Oct 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 28 Sep 25 — Sunday 12 Oct 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Oct 25 — Sunday 19 Oct 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Oct 25 — Sunday 26 Oct 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 19 Oct 25 — Sunday 02 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 26 Oct 25 — Sunday 09 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Nov 25 — Sunday 16 Nov 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Nov 25 — Sunday 23 Nov 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 23 Nov 25 — Sunday 07 Dec 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Dec 25 — Sunday 28 Dec 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 21 Dec 25 — Sunday 04 Jan 26Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Casablanca
Arrive at any time. Arrival transfer is included.

Casablanca to Fez
Set out on a guided tour of two UNESCO World Heritage sites. venture to Volubilis and discover the soaring columns and remarkably well-preserved mosaic floors of this ancient Roman outpost. Then, visit the remains of the medieval city of Meknès, which served as Morocco’s imperial capital in the 17th century. Then, enjoy lunch at a G Adventures–supported women’s cooperative. Continue to Fez and check in to our hotel.

Fez
Step back in time on a walking tour of the medina of Fez, a spellbinding World Heritage site dating back to the 9th century. Skirt past donkey carts as you take in the dazzling sights, from colourful mounds of spices to vividly painted ceramics, and observe Fez’s famous tanners treating and dying hides in the traditional manner. Pay a visit to the breathtaking Madrasa al-Attarine, a masterpiece of intricate Islamic architecture, and pass by the famed Al-Karaouine Mosque—home to the longest continually operating university in the world. We’ll meet a local calligraphy expert at a café later this afternoon for a demonstration of Arabic writing.

Fez to Marrakech
This morning, travel to Marrakech, a melting pot of Amazigh, West African, Mediterranenan, and Arab influences. Immerse yourself in the colour and chaos of Djemaa el-Fna, the city’s main square, where storytellers and magicians captivate passersby and vendors of all kinds peddle their wares. Enjoy mouthwatering street food for dinner: consider sampling harira, a traditional Moroccan soup, or tangia, a slow-cooked meat stew.

Marrakech
Set out in the maze of tiny streets and alleyways and view the Koutoubia Minaret; then head to a spice shop to discover an array of Moroccan spices. After, visit a converted riad or traditional house for a hands-on cooking class, learning how to prepare a delicious tagine and a variety of salads, and enjoy your creations for lunch.This afternoon, take a historical walk of the ancient medina with our local guide, including visits to the enchanting Bahia Palace and the Saadian Tombs, the 16th-century mausoleum where the Saadian dynasty ruler Ahmed al-Mansour and his family are interred.

Marrakech/Aït Ben Haddou
Drive to Aït Ben Haddou, an ancient mudbrick settlement and UNESCO World Heritage site located in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. Explore this fascinating ksar, or fortified village, and compare the vistas of the city with scenes from the Game of Thrones series, Lawrence of Arabia, and Gladiator—parts of which were filmed here.

Aït Ben Haddou/Erg Chigaga
Travel through the Draa Valley towards the Sahara. Venture into the desert on 4x4s, making your way to the great dunes of Erg Chigaga. Settle into our comfortable desert camp and set off on a desert walk. Climb to the top of the dunes to catch an unforgettable sunset over the Sahara, the world’s largest desert. Enjoy a traditional dinner back at the camp and gather around a fire beneath the stars for an evening of storytelling and traditional music.

Erg Chigaga/Zagora
After breakfast, head out from the desert and pause at the small town of Tamegroute to visit a library of ancient Islamic texts. Then drive to the oasis town of Zagora, where a colourful regional market is held twice a week. Enjoy a talk on the history of the Draa region, centered around the Draa River—the longest river in Morocco—and unwind at our beautiful riad. Take a dip in the swimming pool, or relax with a drink on the patio.

Zagora/Taroudant
Head off the beaten path towards the Anti-Atlas or Lesser Atlas mountains. Stop at the town of Taliouine, a thriving centre for harvesting saffron—the world’s most expensive spice—and continue to our stunning riad in Taroudant.

Taroudant
Concealed within striking red walls and framed by snow-dusted peaks, the market town of Taroudant is often called “Little Marrakech.” Wander through the old town at leisure and browse its lively shops. Spend the afternoon at our riad, exploring its flower-laden paths or enjoying a book by the pool.

Taroudant/Tafraout
Venture deeper into the Anti-Atlas region, known for its spectacular natural rock formations and stark, lunar landscapes. Visit Aït Mansour Gorge, a stunning valley of pink-hued cliffs that harbour lush palm groves. Take a walk through the valley in the shade of towering palms and have lunch at the home of a local family. Later, hike to the rock formation known as Le Châpeau de Napoléon, or Napoleon’s Hat, before continuing to Tafraout for the evening.

Tafraout/Essaouira
Travel to the beautiful port town of Essaouira on the Atlantic coast. Stroll the windy beaches, soak in the leisurely atmosphere of the medina, and watch the hustle and bustle of fishermen at the port. Opt to check out the city’s happening live music scene.

Essaouira
Enjoy a day of leisure in this charming coastal city, where Jimi Hendrix, Cat Stevens, and Frank Zappa all famously travelled for inspiration. Walk along the 18th-century ramparts overlooking the Atlantic, and buy fresh fish from the market, which we’ll take to a local restaurant to cook up for our lunch. Opt to browse the colourful shops and art galleries that line the white-washed streets of the medina.

Essaouira/Marrakech
Return to Marrakech and visit the ornate 12th-century Menara Gardens and the Majorelle Gardens, once owned by legendary French fashion designer Yves Saint Laurent. Opt to view the beautiful collection of Amazigh artifacts at the Berber Museum, or visit the nearby Yves Saint Laurent Museum. Enjoy a farewell dinner with the group tonight.

Marrakech
Depart at any time.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.