Passage to Eastern Europe Budapest to Bucharest

Viking River Cruises 2022 & 2023 Prices. Viking River Cruises Europe are the most popular European River Cruises. Pavlus Travel has deals on Viking River Cruises up to free airfares and onboard spending up to $1,000 for your Europe River Cruise. The Best European River Cruises are found at Pavlus Travel. Usually the top 10 European Rivers cruises Consist of Viking River Cruises. Pavlus Travel is one of the largest sellers of Viking River. Call our office for the for the best river cruise deals for 2022 and 2023.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Passage to Eastern Europe Budapest to Bucharest



Tour Description:

Let us take you to the cities, towns and natural wonders of Eastern Europe, where so many fairy tales began. Experience two nights in bustling Budapest, cosmopolitan capital of Hungary; sail past dramatic natural wonders like the soaring white cliffs of the Iron Gate region; visit the Serbian capital of Belgrade and the Croatian town of Osijek; discover historical treasures of Bulgaria; and admire the graceful charms of the Romanian capital of Bucharest where you will enjoy one overnight stay. This itinerary is, quite simply, a revelation.

Map for Passage to Eastern Europe Budapest to Bucharest
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Monday 13 Mar 23 — Thursday 23 Mar 23Starting at $3,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 27 Mar 23 — Thursday 06 Apr 23Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Apr 23 — Thursday 20 Apr 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 24 Apr 23 — Thursday 04 May 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 May 23 — Thursday 18 May 23Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 May 23 — Thursday 25 May 23Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 22 May 23 — Thursday 01 Jun 23Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 May 23 — Thursday 08 Jun 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 05 Jun 23 — Thursday 15 Jun 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Jun 23 — Thursday 22 Jun 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 19 Jun 23 — Thursday 29 Jun 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Jun 23 — Thursday 06 Jul 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jul 23 — Thursday 13 Jul 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Jul 23 — Thursday 20 Jul 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Jul 23 — Thursday 27 Jul 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 24 Jul 23 — Thursday 03 Aug 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Aug 23 — Thursday 17 Aug 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Aug 23 — Thursday 24 Aug 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Aug 23 — Thursday 31 Aug 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Aug 23 — Thursday 07 Sep 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 04 Sep 23 — Thursday 14 Sep 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 11 Sep 23 — Thursday 21 Sep 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 18 Sep 23 — Thursday 28 Sep 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 25 Sep 23 — Thursday 05 Oct 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Oct 23 — Thursday 12 Oct 23Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 09 Oct 23 — Thursday 19 Oct 23Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 16 Oct 23 — Thursday 26 Oct 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Oct 23 — Thursday 02 Nov 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Oct 23 — Wednesday 08 Nov 23Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 11 Mar 24 — Thursday 21 Mar 24Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 25 Mar 24 — Thursday 04 Apr 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Apr 24 — Thursday 18 Apr 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 22 Apr 24 — Thursday 02 May 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 May 24 — Thursday 16 May 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 13 May 24 — Thursday 23 May 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 May 24 — Thursday 30 May 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 27 May 24 — Thursday 06 Jun 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jun 24 — Thursday 13 Jun 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Jun 24 — Thursday 20 Jun 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Jun 24 — Thursday 27 Jun 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 24 Jun 24 — Thursday 04 Jul 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 01 Jul 24 — Thursday 11 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Jul 24 — Thursday 18 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 Jul 24 — Thursday 25 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 22 Jul 24 — Thursday 01 Aug 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 Jul 24 — Thursday 08 Aug 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 05 Aug 24 — Thursday 15 Aug 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Aug 24 — Thursday 22 Aug 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 19 Aug 24 — Thursday 29 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Aug 24 — Thursday 05 Sep 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Sep 24 — Thursday 12 Sep 24Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 09 Sep 24 — Thursday 19 Sep 24Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 16 Sep 24 — Thursday 26 Sep 24Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Sep 24 — Thursday 03 Oct 24Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Sep 24 — Thursday 10 Oct 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Oct 24 — Thursday 17 Oct 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Oct 24 — Thursday 24 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Oct 24 — Thursday 31 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Oct 24 — Wednesday 06 Nov 24Starting at $3,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1 - Budapest
Arrive at Budapest airport and transfer to your hotel in the heart of the city for a 2-night stay. Spend the rest of the day relaxing, or do some exploring on your own.

Day 2 - Budapest
This morning, take a tour of Budapest, the capital of Hungary. Situated along the Danube, it combines the once separate towns of hilly Buda and cosmopolitan Pest into a city rich with history. Begin in Pest, where you see the National Opera House and historic Heroes’ Square. Cross the Chain Bridge to Buda, where you walk along Castle Hill to Fisherman’s Bastion and Matthias Church. The rest of the day is yours to explore. (Breakfast)

Day 3 - Budapest
After breakfast, check out of your hotel and relax as we take you to board your ship. Enjoy a final free day in Budapest. Explore a museum; do some shopping; ride the city’s innovative, efficient metro; relax in one of the Art Nouveau spas; or visit the Great Synagogue and Jewish Quarter. Alternatively, join an optional tour to explore more of Budapest. Return to your ship for a welcome dinner. (Breakfast, Dinner)

Day 4 - Kalocsa
Arrive in Kalocsa, Hungary this morning and take a guided city tour visiting the town center followed by a short organ concert at St. Joseph Church. Then, you are treated to a performance of traditional Puszta horsemanship. Return on board and enjoy your lunch during departure. Dine on board. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 5 - Osijek
Wake up in Vukovar and have breakfast before your excursion to the Croatian city of Osijek. Inhabited since Neolithic times, this area has had several heydays under the Romans, the Ottomans and the Hapsburgs; now, Vukovar is revered for its baroque buildings, parks and monuments. Return on board for lunch and enjoy free time before an early-evening departure. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 6 - Belgrade
Wake up in Belgrade, capital of Serbia. Take a guided walk through the grounds of Kalemegdan Fortress, now a stately park; also see the Orthodox cathedral and stop at the Square of the Republic. Enjoy lunch on board your ship before you have free time to explore Belgrade’s gracious architecture or visit one of its many museums. Dine on board your ship or experience some of Belgrade’s nightlife. We depart very late this evening. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 7 - Golubac
Sail to Golubac this morning and enjoy an included tour of the Golubac Fortress and admire sweeping views over the Danube. You may also choose to join an optional tour; explore Europe’s first settlement from the Stone Age, or take an invigorating hike to Djerdap National Park. Rejoin your ship in Donji Milanovac for lunch. This afternoon, enjoy scenic cruising as you travel through one of the most picturesque areas of the Lower Danube. The Iron Gate is one of Europe’s most dramatic natural wonders—a spectacular narrow gorge with enormous white limestone cliffs. Take in your Program Director’s commentary about the region and scenic points of interest as you sail toward your next port. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 8 - Vidin
Arrive in the picturesque Bulgarian port of Vidin, and take an excursion to see Belogradchik Fortress, built right into the striking Belogradchik Rocks. See the fortress’s amazing construction, begun in Roman times and greatly extended by Bulgarian tsars and the Ottomans, and enjoy breathtaking views. Enjoy lunch on board your ship; then you have free time to explore Vidin’s city center, Orthodox churches and the ruins of the city’s once-grand synagogue. We depart during dinner. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 9 - Veliko Tarnovo
After breakfast, disembark at Ruse for a full-day excursion to Bulgaria’s former capital, Veliko Tarnovo. See Tsaravets Hill and the ruins of the royal castle. During free time, shop for local crafts along Samovodska Charshia. Continue your venture to Arbanasi for lunch in a local restaurant and a guided tour of the Nativity Church, with its intricate floor-to-ceiling murals and icons. Return to your ship for dinner. (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)

Day 10 - Bucharest
Disembark in Giurgiu and set off by motor coach to Bucharest for a day of exploration. After lunch at a local restaurant, enjoy a tour of Romania’s lovely capital city. See the city’s wide boulevards, the Romanian Athenaeum, the Arch of Triumph and the Palace of Parliament. Visit the outdoor Muzeul Satului, otherwise known as the Village Museum, where authentic dwellings from all regions of the country have been relocated and reassembled, including rural cottages, farmhouses and water mills. After your tour, proceed to your hotel and enjoy a final evening in Bucharest. (Breakfast, Lunch)

Day 11 - Bucharest
After breakfast, check out of your hotel and proceed to the airport for your return flight. Or, extend your journey with 3 nights in Bucharest and Transylvania. (Breakfast)

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.

Viking Cruises has an outstanding Referral Program on Viking Ocean Cruises and Viking River Cruises. In addition to Vikings program, Pavlus Travel has a referral program awarding $150 for every booking made by a referral. Call Pavlus Travel for your Viking Cruise Deals and complete details and rules of the Pavlus Travel Referral Program.