Sun & Steam

People often ask what happens on Contiki Tours? Contiki is different offering over 350 trips to 6 continents. Contiki Travel is for people 18 to 35 years old. Guests from all over the World enjoy the cultures of every country they visit. Contiki Tours are stress free travel with like minded friends. While most of the trip is planned one is free to go out on your own. In short a guest builds the Contiki Trip that the've always dreamed about over the years. Contiki guests have been know to stay up late, party, sleep in and wear sun glasses in the morning on their coach. Pavlus Travel discounts the price of every Contiki Vacation. Never pay retail. Call 800.528.9300 for a free quote.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Sun & Steam



Tour Description:

Over 20 optional adventures & a banquet of inclusions; this is going to be a week to remember. The brave will hurl themselves down a hill in an inflated OGO ball, the more chilled will take a boat cruise around the Bay of Islands. Then we'll all compare notes of Hobbits, fish 'n' chips, the Haka over a few drinks in the city of Auckland.

Map for Sun & Steam
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Monday 03 Oct 22 — Saturday 08 Oct 22Starting at $1,314Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 19 Oct 22 — Monday 24 Oct 22Starting at $1,314Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 14 Dec 22 — Monday 19 Dec 22Starting at $1,348Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 22 Dec 22 — Tuesday 27 Dec 22Starting at $1,348Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 30 Dec 22 — Wednesday 04 Jan 23Starting at $1,348Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 07 Jan 23 — Thursday 12 Jan 23Starting at $1,348Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Jan 23 — Friday 20 Jan 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Jan 23 — Saturday 28 Jan 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 27 Jan 23 — Wednesday 01 Feb 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 04 Feb 23 — Thursday 09 Feb 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Feb 23 — Friday 17 Feb 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 24 Feb 23 — Wednesday 01 Mar 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Mar 23 — Saturday 25 Mar 23Starting at $1,213Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 21 Apr 23 — Wednesday 26 Apr 23Starting at $1,186Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 23 May 23 — Sunday 28 May 23Starting at $1,186Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 Jun 23 — Tuesday 13 Jun 23Starting at $1,186Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 22 Jun 23 — Tuesday 27 Jun 23Starting at $1,186Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 06 Jul 23 — Tuesday 11 Jul 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 13 Jul 23 — Tuesday 18 Jul 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 20 Jul 23 — Tuesday 25 Jul 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 27 Jul 23 — Tuesday 01 Aug 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Aug 23 — Tuesday 15 Aug 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Aug 23 — Tuesday 29 Aug 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 07 Sep 23 — Tuesday 12 Sep 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 21 Sep 23 — Tuesday 26 Sep 23Starting at $1,159Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 03 Oct 23 — Sunday 08 Oct 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 11 Oct 23 — Monday 16 Oct 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 19 Oct 23 — Tuesday 24 Oct 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 27 Oct 23 — Wednesday 01 Nov 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 04 Nov 23 — Thursday 09 Nov 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Nov 23 — Friday 17 Nov 23Starting at $1,237Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Nov 23 — Saturday 25 Nov 23Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 28 Nov 23 — Sunday 03 Dec 23Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 06 Dec 23 — Monday 11 Dec 23Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 14 Dec 23 — Tuesday 19 Dec 23Starting at $1,394Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 18 Dec 23 — Saturday 23 Dec 23Starting at $1,394Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 22 Dec 23 — Wednesday 27 Dec 23Starting at $1,394Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 26 Dec 23 — Sunday 31 Dec 23Starting at $1,394Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 30 Dec 23 — Thursday 04 Jan 24Starting at $1,394Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 03 Jan 24 — Monday 08 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Jan 24 — Friday 12 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 11 Jan 24 — Tuesday 16 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 Jan 24 — Saturday 20 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 19 Jan 24 — Wednesday 24 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 23 Jan 24 — Sunday 28 Jan 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 27 Jan 24 — Thursday 01 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 31 Jan 24 — Monday 05 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Feb 24 — Friday 09 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 Feb 24 — Tuesday 13 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Feb 24 — Saturday 17 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 16 Feb 24 — Wednesday 21 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 24 Feb 24 — Thursday 29 Feb 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Mar 24 — Friday 08 Mar 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 19 Mar 24 — Sunday 24 Mar 24Starting at $1,255Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 04 Apr 24 — Tuesday 09 Apr 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 20 Apr 24 — Thursday 25 Apr 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 May 24 — Saturday 11 May 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 22 May 24 — Monday 27 May 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 07 Jun 24 — Wednesday 12 Jun 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 21 Jun 24 — Wednesday 26 Jun 24Starting at $1,246Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 05 Jul 24 — Wednesday 10 Jul 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 12 Jul 24 — Wednesday 17 Jul 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 19 Jul 24 — Wednesday 24 Jul 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 26 Jul 24 — Wednesday 31 Jul 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 09 Aug 24 — Wednesday 14 Aug 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 23 Aug 24 — Wednesday 28 Aug 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 06 Sep 24 — Wednesday 11 Sep 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 20 Sep 24 — Wednesday 25 Sep 24Starting at $1,210Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Auckland to Paihia
Welcome to the land of the long white cloud: New Zealand! Time to meet your Contiki crew and get ready for the adventures on the horizon. We'll cross Auckland's Harbour Bridge admiring the 'City of Sails' harbour before starting our journey north to Paihia. But first, a stop off at the stunning yacht marina in Whangarei. Here we'll check out the weird and wonderful Huderwassert art centre, a unique architectural project dedicated to the ecological activist Friedensreich Hundertwasser. After lunch we'll hit the road again onwards to the Bay of Islands. On arrival to the Bay of Islands we're starting off with a dose of Kiwi history on a guided tour at Waitangi Treaty grounds where in 1840 New Zealand officially became a nation of two communities. And because we like to give you that something extra, how about a free admission at the Treaty museum, in case you seek a bit more detail on Kiwi history. Tonight we'll feast like the locals as we enjoy a true Kiwiana fish'n'chips as we overlook the glittering Bay of Islands.

Paihia
Whether it's parasailing or a fast boat ride - today's (idyllic) list of optionals reads like a who's who of adventure. This area is filled with natural beauty and is sure to inspire your inner wild child. Make the most of the Free Time Add-On experiences on offer - tomorrow we head back to the big city vibes.

Paihia to Auckland
After breakfast this morning, feeling full, salty and sun-kissed we wave goodbye to Paihia & sashay our way back down NZ in the direction of Auckland. Arriving in Auckland we've got a array of awesome Free-Time Add-Ons to choose from. Adrenaline junkies, get ready for a bungee jump, climb over the iconic harbour bridge or sky jump off the Skywalk. For those who prefer to keep two feet on the ground, why not get your taste buds tingling with a multi-sensory icecream experience at Giapo Chef's Table?

Auckland to Rotorua
Laters Auckland! Today we drive through the lush farmlands of Waikato, an area that produces many of New Zealand's best Rugby players for the All Blacks, on route to Rotorua. When you catch your first whiff of that .. 'unusual' sulphur smell, you'll know we've arrived in Rotorua. Famed for its spurting geysers, boiling mud pools & hot springs, gondola and speeding luge rides, Rotorua is a natural wonderland, and then some. We'll stop off at the New Zealand Kiwi Hatchery, the largest conservation project for the kiwi bird in the world. Watch these adorable little birds roam around, stand in a human-sized kiwi burrow, and visit the incubation centre, where over 2100 kiwi chicks have been born. Who knows, maybe you'll see a newly-hatched kiwi chick! Tonight the culture will sky rocket with a traditional Maori hāngi dinner & dance performance, and perhaps best of all, the chance to get involved in the world-famous HAKA. Tongues at the ready peeps.

Rotorua
The day is yours to roam free in this geothermal paradise. Soak in a hot spring, go white water rafting or hike up a volcano. The options are limitless and the decisions are yours. We recommend the Rotorua Dawn Canopy Tour, exclusive to Contiki, where you'll watch the sun rise, eat some breakfast and drink coffee up in the towering trees as the birds make start their morning calls. Then, you'll get to soar 1200m through the forest on the ultimate zipline adventure.

Rotorua to Auckland
Just as we were acclimatising to that funky smell, it's time to leave Rotorua, taking one last look at the bubbling geothermic mud pools before we flee. Arriving into Auckland marks the time to say goodbye to the wolf pack (sob). NZ - you've been real.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.