Essence of South Africa

Trafalgar Tours perhaps offers the most variety of guided tours in the World. While some believe Trafalgar only features guided tours of Europe the Trafalgar Tours guided tour brochures feature escorted tours throughout the World. An all time favorite every year is the Trafalgar Tours Italy collection. Italy Tours have ranked #1 every year. Trafalgar group tours are available in Europe, Italy, South America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Pavlus Travel discounts the retail price of all Trafalgar Tours from brochures prices. As one of the largest seller of Trafalgar in the World, Pavlus guarantees you the lowest Trafalgar prices.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Essence of South Africa



Tour Description:

Bush, beach and two vibrant cities – capture the essence of South Africa on this culmination of a Cape Town to Kruger experience, including Johannesburg, the 'City of Gold'.

Map for Essence of South Africa
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 21 Jul 24 — Tuesday 30 Jul 24Starting at $5,595Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Aug 24 — Tuesday 13 Aug 24Starting at $5,595Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Sep 24 — Tuesday 10 Sep 24Starting at $5,595Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 29 Sep 24 — Tuesday 08 Oct 24Starting at $5,595Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Oct 24 — Tuesday 22 Oct 24Starting at $5,625Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Nov 24 — Tuesday 12 Nov 24Starting at $5,625Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 Nov 24 — Tuesday 26 Nov 24Starting at $5,625Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Dec 24 — Tuesday 17 Dec 24Starting at $5,325Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Tuesday 17 Dec 24 — Thursday 26 Dec 24Starting at $5,375Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Jan 25 — Tuesday 14 Jan 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 19 Jan 25 — Tuesday 28 Jan 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Feb 25 — Tuesday 25 Feb 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Mar 25 — Tuesday 11 Mar 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Mar 25 — Tuesday 25 Mar 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Apr 25 — Tuesday 15 Apr 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 20 Apr 25 — Tuesday 29 Apr 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 May 25 — Tuesday 13 May 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 18 May 25 — Tuesday 27 May 25Starting at $4,825Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Jun 25 — Tuesday 17 Jun 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Jun 25 — Tuesday 01 Jul 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 06 Jul 25 — Tuesday 15 Jul 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 20 Jul 25 — Tuesday 29 Jul 25Starting at $4,995Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Aug 25 — Tuesday 12 Aug 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 Aug 25 — Tuesday 26 Aug 25Starting at $4,875Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Aug 25 — Tuesday 09 Sep 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Sep 25 — Tuesday 23 Sep 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 28 Sep 25 — Tuesday 07 Oct 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Oct 25 — Tuesday 21 Oct 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Nov 25 — Tuesday 11 Nov 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Nov 25 — Tuesday 25 Nov 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Dec 25 — Tuesday 16 Dec 25Starting at $5,250Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Friday 19 Dec 25 — Sunday 28 Dec 25Starting at $5,295Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Welcome to Cape Town
South Africa’s ‘Mother City’ and her iconic Table Mountain extend a warm welcome as you embark on a small group journey that will reveal the highlights of South Africa. Spend the day delving into Cape Town’s cosmopolitan surrounds before joining your fellow travelers and Travel Director for a Welcome Dinner.

Table Mountain and Tour Cape Town
This morning, we encounter Table Mountain first-hand, ascending via aerial cableway to its vast flat top – a rocky wonderland of rich Cape fynbos and curious dassies (hyraxes). Peer over the bustling City Bowl and Atlantic Seaboard keeping a keen eye out for the landmarks your Travel Director will show you during this morning's city tour, including Company Gardens, Bo-Kaap and the Castle of Good Hope. The rest of the day is yours to explore Cape Town at leisure. Ramble up Bree Street to sample the city’s vibrant coffee culture or take a stroll along the Sea Point promenade with the fellow outdoor enthusiasts. Consider joining our Optional Experience to explore infamous Robben Island, with your guide revealing its turbulent past and the cell where Nelson Mandela spent the majority of his prison term.

Circumnavigate the Cape Peninsula
Circumnavigate the Cape Peninsula, from trendy Camps Bay to Cape Point and back. The crashing waves of the Atlantic to your right, the rocky 12 Apostles to your left, wind your way along one of the world’s most magnificent coastal roads towards the outcrop that is Africa’s most extreme south-western tip. Say a quiet hello to the shy penguins of Boulders Beach, see the Cape of Good Hope and travel through charming coastal towns along the way.

Cape Winelands and Hermanus Excursion Connect with Locals
Venture to the town of Franschhoek and see during your orientation why it is proclaimed as one of the most beautiful wine valleys in the world. Take the scenic Franschhoek Pass to the coastal town of Hermanus for your Be My Guest experience. Connect With Locals when you meet local business owner Stefan, who will treat you to a delicious traditional braai (barbecue) featuring deliciacies such as boerewors, pap and melktert. Over a glass of his homemade wine he’ll share stories of his life in South Africa’s whale watching capital. Return to Cape Town via a scenic driving route, arriving in the late afternoon. Enjoy your evening at leisure.

From City to Safari
This morning you’ll bid farewell to the 'Mother City' and fly to Hoedspruit where a private game reserve near South Africa's great Kruger National Park beckons. Start your time in the South African bushveld with a MAKE TRAVEL MATTER® Experience visit to a local Shangaan village. Learn about the traditions and customs of the Shangaan people and how the Eco Academy there provides eco and wildlife education. The visit includes a simple meal of grilled chicken, pap, Shangaan style cabbage, and for the brave, the opportunity to try mopani worms! Settle in to one of Trafalgar’s Stays With Stories, Becks Safari Lodge, your home in the bush for the next three nights.

Safari in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
The action begins as we embark on an early morning game drive through Karongwe Private Reserve with a Local Specialist game ranger and Shangaan tracker-guide. The rising sun awakens the birds and insects that share your journey into the bush, as you scour the dense brush for signs of the Big 5. After lunch, and time for a siesta and a swim, return to the bush for an afternoon safari drive.

Seek out the 'Big 5' Safari Animals in Karongwe
Today enjoy another full day of game drives through Karongwe Private Reserve. Continue to scour the dense brush with your Local Specialist for incredible encounters with Africa’s iconic wildlife. End the day with a traditional sundowner drink overlooking the Game Reserve, keeping your eyes peeled for signs of wildlife that emerge from their cover of darkness.

Journey to Johannesburg
This morning have your camera's ready for the last of your game drives before your flight to Johannesburg. Check into your hotel in the heart of Sandton that's well located for exploring the nearby restaurants and shopping during your free evening.

Discover Historical Soweto Dive Into Culture
Unlock the secrets of the 'city of gold' on a full-day tour to see several iconic sites including the Hector Pietersen Memorial. Dive Into Culture during a visit to the Constitutional Hill, Mandela House Museum and the Regina Mundi Church, which chronicles South Africa's tumultuous Apartheid years.

Farewell Johannesburg
Our epic encounter with South Africa’s iconic sites comes to an end today. Transfer to Johannesburg International Airport for your onward flight. Find out more about your free airport transfer at trafalgar.com/freetransfers.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.