Captivating Rhine (Amsterdam to Basel)

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balconies for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Captivating Rhine (Amsterdam to Basel)



Tour Description:

Contoured by vineyard-clad hills and castles from yesteryear, the legendary Rhine captivates. Experience the allure of France’s Alsace region in its welcoming capital, Strasbourg, and its priceless gem, Riquewihr. Fabled towns lost in time present you with the chance to taste local flavors — Rüdesheimer coffee and Kölsch beer—and to touch history up close with guided hikes and bike rides. From Amsterdam’s colorful canals to the majestic Swiss Alps, journey into the heart of the destinations you visit.

Map for Captivating Rhine (Amsterdam to Basel)
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Thursday 20 Jun 24 — Thursday 27 Jun 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 27 Jun 24 — Thursday 04 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 11 Jul 24 — Thursday 18 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 18 Jul 24 — Thursday 25 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 25 Jul 24 — Thursday 01 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 01 Aug 24 — Thursday 08 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 Aug 24 — Thursday 15 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 22 Aug 24 — Thursday 29 Aug 24Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 29 Aug 24 — Thursday 05 Sep 24Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 26 Sep 24 — Thursday 03 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 03 Oct 24 — Thursday 10 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 17 Oct 24 — Thursday 24 Oct 24Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Oct 24 — Thursday 31 Oct 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 31 Oct 24 — Thursday 07 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 14 Nov 24 — Thursday 21 Nov 24Starting at $3,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Feb 25 — Sunday 16 Feb 25Starting at $2,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 23 Feb 25 — Sunday 02 Mar 25Starting at $2,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Mar 25 — Sunday 16 Mar 25Starting at $2,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 13 Mar 25 — Thursday 20 Mar 25Starting at $2,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 19 Mar 25 — Wednesday 26 Mar 25Starting at $3,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 27 Mar 25 — Thursday 03 Apr 25Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Apr 25 — Thursday 17 Apr 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Apr 25 — Thursday 01 May 25Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 26 Apr 25 — Saturday 03 May 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 07 May 25 — Wednesday 14 May 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 May 25 — Thursday 15 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 10 May 25 — Saturday 17 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 15 May 25 — Thursday 22 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 21 May 25 — Wednesday 28 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 22 May 25 — Thursday 29 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 24 May 25 — Saturday 31 May 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 29 May 25 — Thursday 05 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 05 Jun 25 — Thursday 12 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 07 Jun 25 — Saturday 14 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 12 Jun 25 — Thursday 19 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 19 Jun 25 — Thursday 26 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 21 Jun 25 — Saturday 28 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 26 Jun 25 — Thursday 03 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 03 Jul 25 — Thursday 10 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 05 Jul 25 — Saturday 12 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Jul 25 — Thursday 17 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 12 Jul 25 — Saturday 19 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 17 Jul 25 — Thursday 24 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 19 Jul 25 — Saturday 26 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Jul 25 — Thursday 31 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 31 Jul 25 — Thursday 07 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 02 Aug 25 — Saturday 09 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 07 Aug 25 — Thursday 14 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 09 Aug 25 — Saturday 16 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 14 Aug 25 — Thursday 21 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 16 Aug 25 — Saturday 23 Aug 25Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 21 Aug 25 — Thursday 28 Aug 25Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 23 Aug 25 — Saturday 30 Aug 25Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 28 Aug 25 — Thursday 04 Sep 25Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 30 Aug 25 — Saturday 06 Sep 25Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 04 Sep 25 — Thursday 11 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 11 Sep 25 — Thursday 18 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 13 Sep 25 — Saturday 20 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 18 Sep 25 — Thursday 25 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 20 Sep 25 — Saturday 27 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 25 Sep 25 — Thursday 02 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 27 Sep 25 — Saturday 04 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 02 Oct 25 — Thursday 09 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 04 Oct 25 — Saturday 11 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 09 Oct 25 — Thursday 16 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 11 Oct 25 — Saturday 18 Oct 25Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 23 Oct 25 — Thursday 30 Oct 25Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 25 Oct 25 — Saturday 01 Nov 25Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 30 Oct 25 — Thursday 06 Nov 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 01 Nov 25 — Saturday 08 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 06 Nov 25 — Thursday 13 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 12 Nov 25 — Wednesday 19 Nov 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 13 Nov 25 — Thursday 20 Nov 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 24 Dec 25 — Wednesday 31 Dec 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 05 Feb 26 — Thursday 12 Feb 26Starting at $2,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Feb 26 — Sunday 15 Feb 26Starting at $2,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 19 Feb 26 — Thursday 26 Feb 26Starting at $2,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 22 Feb 26 — Sunday 01 Mar 26Starting at $2,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 05 Mar 26 — Thursday 12 Mar 26Starting at $3,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 08 Mar 26 — Sunday 15 Mar 26Starting at $3,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 14 Mar 26 — Saturday 21 Mar 26Starting at $3,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 28 Mar 26 — Saturday 04 Apr 26Starting at $3,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 25 Apr 26 — Saturday 02 May 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 30 Apr 26 — Thursday 07 May 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 06 May 26 — Wednesday 13 May 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 09 May 26 — Saturday 16 May 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 14 May 26 — Thursday 21 May 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 21 May 26 — Thursday 28 May 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 23 May 26 — Saturday 30 May 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 28 May 26 — Thursday 04 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 04 Jun 26 — Thursday 11 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 06 Jun 26 — Saturday 13 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 10 Jun 26 — Wednesday 17 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 11 Jun 26 — Thursday 18 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 17 Jun 26 — Wednesday 24 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 18 Jun 26 — Thursday 25 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 20 Jun 26 — Saturday 27 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 25 Jun 26 — Thursday 02 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 02 Jul 26 — Thursday 09 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 09 Jul 26 — Thursday 16 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 11 Jul 26 — Saturday 18 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 16 Jul 26 — Thursday 23 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 18 Jul 26 — Saturday 25 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 23 Jul 26 — Thursday 30 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 30 Jul 26 — Thursday 06 Aug 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 06 Aug 26 — Thursday 13 Aug 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 08 Aug 26 — Saturday 15 Aug 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 13 Aug 26 — Thursday 20 Aug 26Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 15 Aug 26 — Saturday 22 Aug 26Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 20 Aug 26 — Thursday 27 Aug 26Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 22 Aug 26 — Saturday 29 Aug 26Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 27 Aug 26 — Thursday 03 Sep 26Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 29 Aug 26 — Saturday 05 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 03 Sep 26 — Thursday 10 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Sep 26 — Thursday 17 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 12 Sep 26 — Saturday 19 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 17 Sep 26 — Thursday 24 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 19 Sep 26 — Saturday 26 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Sep 26 — Thursday 01 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 26 Sep 26 — Saturday 03 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 01 Oct 26 — Thursday 08 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 03 Oct 26 — Saturday 10 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 Oct 26 — Thursday 15 Oct 26Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 10 Oct 26 — Saturday 17 Oct 26Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 15 Oct 26 — Thursday 22 Oct 26Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 22 Oct 26 — Thursday 29 Oct 26Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 24 Oct 26 — Saturday 31 Oct 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 29 Oct 26 — Thursday 05 Nov 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 31 Oct 26 — Saturday 07 Nov 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 05 Nov 26 — Thursday 12 Nov 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Saturday 07 Nov 26 — Saturday 14 Nov 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 11 Nov 26 — Wednesday 18 Nov 26Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 12 Nov 26 — Thursday 19 Nov 26Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 23 Dec 26 — Wednesday 30 Dec 26Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1
AMSTERDAM – EMBARKATION. Board the ship in Amsterdam for your Captivating Rhine cruise.

Day 2
AMSTERDAM. There are 165 canals in Amsterdam, and you’ll get enjoy some of them on your canal cruise. Later in the day, set sail out of Amsterdam.

Day 3
DÜSSELDORF. As a leading hub for German culture, commerce, and architecture, Düsseldorf is a must-visit city for any travelers on the Rhine. Here, you will have multiple options for the day’s excursion. Explore this grand city on the Rhine by joining a walking tour, concluding with a tasting of Altbier, a local specialty brewed using traditional techniques. Alternatively, cover more ground with an active bike tour of the city. If you’re feeling adventurous, take a brief trip to the nearby city of Cologne. Join a guided tour through the enchanting Old Town, where you will see sites such as the Cologne Rathaus, Germany’s oldest town hall; the Fishmarkt, which dates back to the 12th century and the Great St. Martin Church.

Day 4
RHINE GORGE - RÜDESHEIM. Cruise through the captivating UNESCO-designated Rhine Gorge, the most stunningly beautiful stretch of the river before reaching the winemaking town of Rüdesheim. Join a wine tasting to discover the flavors of the town’s iconic vineyards. Or drink up the stunning views by soaring high above the vineyards with a gondola ride to the Niederwalddenkmal. For a more active adventure, hike through the town’s beautiful vineyards or join a guided bike tour along the scenic Rhine River. Later in the day, let Siegfried’s Mechanical Instrument Cabinet charm you with its remarkable collection of self-playing musical instruments; or taste one of the town’s special delights, Rüdesheimer coffee, ceremoniously made with brandy, coffee and whipped cream.

Day 5
LUDWIGSHAFEN. Ludwigshafen is your gateway to a choice of three excursions. Visit Heidelberg, the perfectly preserved medieval city nestled in the Neckar River Valley along Germany’s Castle Road. Discover the iconic red sandstone Heidelberg Castle and Great Vat, an 18th-century, 49,000-gallon wine cask. For a more active adventure while in Heidelberg, join a guided hike up the Philosopher’s Path, aptly named during the Romantic Period, and enjoy panoramic views of the city. Alternatively, you can visit one of Germany’s oldest cities, Speyer, known for the largest Romanesque cathedral in Europe—a UNESCO World Heritage Site—and the medieval Old Gate, Altpörtel. Or join a guided bike tour along the shores of the river Neckar and enjoy a cycling break to explore the picturesque medieval town of Ladenburg.

Day 6
STRASBOURG, FRANCE. Strasbourg offers flavors of both France and Germany because of its borderline location. Enjoy a panoramic tour past the stunning Parc de l’Orangerie, the European Parliament and the Place de la République before walking through its iconic “La Petite France” district, lifted straight from the pages of a fairytale. Wander through charming streets past the Cathédrale de Nôtre Dame with its famous astronomical clock. Alternatively, take a guided bike ride through the city and Parc de l’Orangerie.

Day 7
BREISACH, GERMANY. Breisach is your gateway to several different excursions. Step back in time with a visit to the enchanting Alsatian town of Riquewihr, which looks almost the same as it did in the 16th century. On your walking tour, admire historic architecture and famous sights, such as the Dolder Gate. Alternatively, head to Freiburg, founded in 1120 and home to the Freiburg’s Münster, a Gothic cathedral said to have “the most beautiful spire on earth.” Those wishing a more active excursion can cycle through the countryside, or hike in the Black Forest, a magical land full of cultural traditions. (B,L,D) *Please Note: Black Forest Hike is weather dependent and may only operate at certain times of year. Please refer to your final documents for details.

Day 8
BASEL, SWITZERLAND – DISEMBARKATION. After breakfast, bid farewell to Switzerland and prepare for your return flight home.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.