Rhine Castles & Swiss Alps (Basel to Amsterdam)

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balcony's for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Rhine Castles & Swiss Alps (Basel to Amsterdam)



Tour Description:

Discover fairytale castles and historic vineyards as part of this spectacular Rhine River holiday fantasy. Explore the canal-laden city of Amsterdam in all its seasonal glory, with its neat rows of buildings and rich history. Wander the stalls of France’s oldest Christmas Market in Strasbourg and explore the restaurants, open-air wine gardens, and Christmas Market of Drosselgasse, the cultural heart of Rüdesheim. Sail aboard an elegantly decorated ship through cities and towns brimming with beautiful decor, glittering Christmas trees and holiday spirit. Plus, enjoy festive onboard traditions and an exquisite holiday feast with all the trimmings on every Christmas Markets departure. Encompassing the Netherlands, Germany, France and Switzerland, as well as iconic landmarks and majestic mountain landscapes, this distinctive itinerary is truly a Christmas miracle. We are aware of the recent announcement regarding Christmas Markets and we will be providing an update shortly on the current situation.

Map for Rhine Castles & Swiss Alps (Basel to Amsterdam)
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Monday 03 Oct 22 — Tuesday 11 Oct 22Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Oct 22 — Tuesday 18 Oct 22Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Oct 22 — Tuesday 25 Oct 22Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 31 Oct 22 — Tuesday 08 Nov 22Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Nov 22 — Tuesday 15 Nov 22Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Nov 22 — Tuesday 22 Nov 22Starting at $3,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Nov 22 — Tuesday 29 Nov 22Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Dec 22 — Tuesday 03 Jan 23Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 May 23 — Tuesday 16 May 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 May 23 — Tuesday 23 May 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 22 May 23 — Tuesday 30 May 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 05 Jun 23 — Tuesday 13 Jun 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Jun 23 — Tuesday 20 Jun 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Jun 23 — Tuesday 04 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jul 23 — Tuesday 11 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Jul 23 — Tuesday 18 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Jul 23 — Tuesday 25 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 24 Jul 23 — Tuesday 01 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 31 Jul 23 — Tuesday 08 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Aug 23 — Tuesday 15 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Aug 23 — Tuesday 22 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Aug 23 — Tuesday 29 Aug 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Aug 23 — Tuesday 05 Sep 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 04 Sep 23 — Tuesday 12 Sep 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 11 Sep 23 — Tuesday 19 Sep 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Oct 23 — Tuesday 10 Oct 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 09 Oct 23 — Tuesday 17 Oct 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 16 Oct 23 — Tuesday 24 Oct 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Oct 23 — Tuesday 31 Oct 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Oct 23 — Tuesday 07 Nov 23Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 Nov 23 — Tuesday 14 Nov 23Starting at $3,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 13 Nov 23 — Tuesday 21 Nov 23Starting at $3,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Nov 23 — Tuesday 28 Nov 23Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 25 Dec 23 — Tuesday 02 Jan 24Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 May 24 — Tuesday 14 May 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jun 24 — Tuesday 11 Jun 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Jun 24 — Tuesday 25 Jun 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 01 Jul 24 — Tuesday 09 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 Jul 24 — Tuesday 23 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 Jul 24 — Tuesday 06 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 05 Aug 24 — Tuesday 13 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Aug 24 — Tuesday 20 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 19 Aug 24 — Tuesday 27 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Aug 24 — Tuesday 03 Sep 24Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Sep 24 — Tuesday 10 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 09 Sep 24 — Tuesday 17 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 16 Sep 24 — Tuesday 24 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Sep 24 — Tuesday 01 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Sep 24 — Tuesday 08 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Oct 24 — Tuesday 15 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Oct 24 — Tuesday 22 Oct 24Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Oct 24 — Tuesday 29 Oct 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Oct 24 — Tuesday 05 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 04 Nov 24 — Tuesday 12 Nov 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 11 Nov 24 — Tuesday 19 Nov 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 18 Nov 24 — Tuesday 26 Nov 24Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Dec 24 — Tuesday 31 Dec 24Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1
ARRIVE IN AMSTERDAM, THE NETHERLANDS – EMBARKATION. Board the ship for your Rhine Castles & Swiss Alps cruise.

Day 2
AMSTERDAM. There are 165 canals in Amsterdam, and you’ll get enjoy some of them on your canal cruise. Later in the day, set sail out of Amsterdam. (B,L,D) *Please note: The Floriade 2022 Expo opens from April 14 to October 9, 2022.

Day 3
COLOGNE, GERMANY. Enjoy cruising to Cologne. Join a guided tour through the Old Town and explore the UNESCO-designated Cologne Cathedral, one of Germany’s most revered Gothic masterpieces. Continue to the Cologne Rathaus, Germany’s oldest town hall, plus see other local sights. For a different view, visit a local tavern to taste its famous Kölsch beer, only made in Cologne, and reibekuchen mit apfelmus, potato pancakes typically served with applesauce. Active adventurists will want to join a guided bike ride along the Rhine and through the historic Stadtgarten.

Day 4
RHINE GORGE - RÜDESHEIM. Cruise through the captivating UNESCO-designated Rhine Gorge, the most stunningly beautiful stretch of the river before reaching the winemaking town of Rüdesheim. Join a wine tasting to discover the flavors of the town’s iconic vineyards. Or drink up the stunning views by soaring high above the vineyards with a gondola ride to the Niederwalddenkmal. For a more active adventure, hike through the town’s beautiful vineyards or join a guided bike tour along the scenic Rhine River. Later in the day, let Siegfried’s Mechanical Musical Instrument Museum charm you with its remarkable collection of self-playing musical instruments; or taste one of the town’s special delights, Rüdesheimer coffee, ceremoniously made with brandy, coffee and whipped cream.

Day 5
LUDWIGSHAFEN. Ludwigshafen is your gateway to a choice of four excursions. Visit Heidelberg, the perfectly preserved medieval city nestled in the Neckar River Valley along Germany’s Castle Road. Discover the iconic red sandstone Heidelberg Castle and Great Vat, an 18th-century, 49,000-gallon wine cask. For a more active adventure while in Heidelberg, join a guided hike up the Philosopher’s Path, aptly named during the Romantic Period, and enjoy panoramic views of the city. Alternatively, you can visit one of Germany’s oldest cities, Speyer, known for the largest Romanesque cathedral in Europe—a UNESCO World Heritage Site—and the medieval Old Gate, Altpörtel. Or pedal along the river Neckar to the picturesque medieval city center of Ladenburg and enjoy some free time to explore the shops.

Day 6
STRASBOURG, FRANCE. Strasbourg offers flavors of both France and Germany because of its borderline location. Enjoy a panoramic tour past the stunning Parc de l’Orangerie, the European Parliament and the Place de la République before walking through its iconic “La Petite France” district, lifted straight from the pages of a fairytale. Wander through charming streets past the Cathédrale de Nôtre Dame with its famous astronomical clock. Alternatively, take a guided bike ride through the city and Parc de l’Orangerie.

Day 7
BASEL, SWITZERLAND. Enjoy getting to know Basel, Switzerland’s third largest city. Long an important university, banking and trade center, Basel’s glorious past is still evident in its medieval town hall, richly decorated market square and exquisite 18th-century patrician homes. Tour the city by foot or on a guided bike tour that takes you through three countries: Switzerland, France and Germany. Alternatively, go on a full-day excursion to Lucerne, or opt for one of the morning excursions and visit Lucerne in the afternoon. With either Lucerne excursion, you’ll have the opportunity to see its Lion Monument – the figure of a dying lion carved into a hillside in memory of the Swiss Guards massacred during the French Revolution in 1792 – which Mark Twain described as “the most mournful and moving piece of stone in the world.” You’ll also see Lucerne’s spectacular medieval walls and towers, dating back to the 13th century.

Day 8
BASEL, SWITZERLAND – DISEMBARKATION. Bid farewell to Basel and prepare for your flight home.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.