Splendors of Japan

Trafalgar Tours perhaps offers the most variety of guided tours in the World. While some believe Trafalgar only features guided tours of Europe the Trafalgar Tours guided tour brochures feature escorted tours throughout the World. An all time favorite every year is the Trafalgar Tours Italy collection. Italy Tours have ranked #1 every year. Trafalgar group tours are available in Europe, Italy, South America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Pavlus Travel discounts the retail price of all Trafalgar Tours from brochures prices. As one of the largest seller of Trafalgar in the World, Pavlus guarantees you the lowest Trafalgar prices.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Splendors of Japan



Tour Description:

At Kyoto’s Fushimi Inari Shrine, climb the extraordinary path lined with hundreds of orange torii gates that snake through the forest up into the mountains above the city. Indulge in a delicious kaiseki lunch at a traditional ryokan and gain an insight into Japanese customs.

Map for Splendors of Japan
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 05 Mar 23 — Monday 13 Mar 23Starting at $4,695Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 12 Mar 23 — Monday 20 Mar 23Starting at $4,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 19 Mar 23 — Monday 27 Mar 23Starting at $4,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 26 Mar 23 — Monday 03 Apr 23Starting at $4,850Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Apr 23 — Monday 10 Apr 23Starting at $4,365Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 05 Apr 23 — Thursday 13 Apr 23Starting at $4,365Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 09 Apr 23 — Monday 17 Apr 23Starting at $4,365Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Apr 23 — Monday 24 Apr 23Starting at $4,365Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 19 Apr 23 — Thursday 27 Apr 23Starting at $4,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 23 Apr 23 — Monday 01 May 23Starting at $4,275Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 May 23 — Monday 15 May 23Starting at $4,275Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 28 May 23 — Monday 05 Jun 23Starting at $4,275Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Jun 23 — Monday 12 Jun 23Starting at $3,983Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 11 Jun 23 — Monday 19 Jun 23Starting at $3,983Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 25 Jun 23 — Monday 03 Jul 23Starting at $3,983Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Jul 23 — Monday 10 Jul 23Starting at $3,983Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Jul 23 — Monday 24 Jul 23Starting at $4,316Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 13 Aug 23 — Monday 21 Aug 23Starting at $4,316Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Sep 23 — Monday 11 Sep 23Starting at $4,275Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 Sep 23 — Monday 25 Sep 23Starting at $4,275Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 01 Oct 23 — Monday 09 Oct 23Starting at $4,316Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Oct 23 — Monday 23 Oct 23Starting at $4,795Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 29 Oct 23 — Monday 06 Nov 23Starting at $4,795Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 05 Nov 23 — Monday 13 Nov 23Starting at $4,795Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 19 Nov 23 — Monday 27 Nov 23Starting at $4,795Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Dec 23 — Monday 11 Dec 23Starting at $4,425Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 20 Dec 23 — Thursday 28 Dec 23Starting at $4,750Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Jan 24 — Monday 15 Jan 24Starting at $4,550Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 04 Feb 24 — Monday 12 Feb 24Starting at $4,550Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 03 Mar 24 — Monday 11 Mar 24Starting at $4,895Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 10 Mar 24 — Monday 18 Mar 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 Mar 24 — Monday 25 Mar 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 20 Mar 24 — Thursday 28 Mar 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 24 Mar 24 — Monday 01 Apr 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 27 Mar 24 — Thursday 04 Apr 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Mar 24 — Monday 08 Apr 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Wednesday 03 Apr 24 — Thursday 11 Apr 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 07 Apr 24 — Monday 15 Apr 24Starting at $4,950Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Apr 24 — Monday 22 Apr 24Starting at $4,895Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


Destination & Sightseeing

Destination Highlights:

Explore Tokyo and Kyoto
Visit the Sensoji Temple, the Skytree Observation Tower, the Edo Tokyo Museum in Tokyo, Mt. Fuji 5th Station, the Kinkakuji Temple and Fushimi Inari Shrine and Sanjusangen-do Hall in Kyoto
. View Mt. Fuji
See the traditional Gassho-zukuri houses in Gokayama and the beautiful gardens of Kenrokuen in Kanazawa
Connect with Locals Enjoy a kaiseki lunch at a traditional Japanese ryokan home near Kyoto where you will learn about local customs.
Dive into Culture Learn how local artisans make Japanese washi paper in the UNESCO village of Gokayama.
Dive into Culture Sample Japanese sake during a walking tour in the Edo-style streets of Takayama Old Town.
MAKE TRAVEL MATTER® Help support a local business with a visit to a washi paper workshop. You'll watch the family at work, and test your paper-making skills for yourself.

First Class Travel Highlights:

An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
All porterage and restaurant gratuities
All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
Breakfast daily and up to half of your evening meals
Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
Audio headsets Audio headsets for flexible sightseeing
Luxury air-conditioned coach with Wi-Fi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
Optional Experiences and free time

ITINERARY

Konnichiwa Tokyo
Your in-depth exploration of Japan begins in Tokyo. On arrival at Narita or Haneda Airport, take a shuttle bus transfer to your centrally located hotel, where you’ll join your Travel Director and fellow guests for a Welcome Reception drink and local appetisers.

Explore Vibrant Tokyo
We launch our City Tour in the old-time entertainment centre of Asakusa, where we'll encounter the Sensoji Buddhist Temple. One of Tokyo's most colourful and popular temples, Sensoji has been rebuilt countless times since it was founded in 628, making it Tokyo's oldest temple site. Strolling down Nakamise next, we immerse ourselves in the sights and sounds of shitamachi (downtown Tokyo), admiring the wooden dolls, colourful chiyogami (origami paper) and traditional Japanese sweets. We'll ascend Tokyo Skytree, the world's highest free-standing broadcasting tower for panoramic views of the city, then enjoy the rest of the day at leisure or on an Optional Experience where a professional stylist will dress you in a traditional Japanese kimono.

Off to the Five Lakes District
Our first stop today is the Imperial Palace Plaza from where the two bridges that form the entrance to the inner grounds of the Imperial Palace can be viewed. We'll have the opportunity to explore the leafy Imperial Palace East Gardens before continuing our City Tour. At the Edo-Tokyo Museum, we delve into the history and culture of Tokyo’s Edo era, then continue to the Ginza district where we’ll learn how to make sushi with a Local Specialist. We venture to the Five Lakes District next, keeping a keen eye out for the UNESCO listed Mt. Fuji which dominates the landscape.

Majestic Mt. Fuji and Timeless Takayama
Visit Oshino Hakkai, a small rural village in the Fuji Five Lakes district, renowned for eight natural spring water ponds that are fed by melted snow from Mt. Fuji. Admire the reflections of the sky and landscapes in its clear waters, then ascend Mt. Fuji by road to 2,300 metres at the 5th station. Ride up Mt. Tenjo on the Kachikachiyama Ropeway next, for jaw-dropping views (weather permitting) of Mt. Fuji and Lake Kawaguchiko. Then, journey through the Japanese Alps to the beautiful hillside town of Takayama, before enjoying dinner at the hotel.

Experience Gokayama and on to Kanazawa
Immerse yourself in tradition as you walk through the Edo-style streets of Takayama's Old Town. Indulge a lunch of Japanese Hida-gyu – beef from a black-haired Japanese cattle breed, renowned as one of the finest quality varieties of beef. Journey back in time this afternoon during a visit to the peaceful UNESCO-listed Gokayama, a mountain village set amidst five valleys. Admire the unique construction of the local Gassho-zukuri wooden houses that have been built without the use of nails with steeply sloped thatched roofs to prevent snow from building up on them. Next, meet a local family in one of these houses, then Dive Into Culture observing local artisans making washi paper and trying your hand at making your own. Make a difference to the sustainability of this small business during this MAKE TRAVEL MATTER® Experience. Stay overnight in Kanazawa.

Traditional Kanazawa
Join a Local Specialist this morning to learn the secrets of painting gold leaf, a delicate craft the Japanese have been perfecting since the 16th century. Continue to the tranquil gardens of Kenrokuen, which took shape over a hundred years to emerge as one of Japan’s most beautiful gardens. Connecting with your exquisite natural surrounds, you’ll stroll through ornate landscapes and past ponds and temples. Take a short walk through the Omicho market next to see the local fish catch and enjoy an insider’s view of everyday life in a busy coastal town. Then, visit the Nagamachi District with its beautifully preserved samurai houses that line the traditional stone streets. Here you will gain first-hand insights into samurai life during a visit to the Nomura house, an elegant samurai mansion.

Onwards to Kyoto
We board an Express train this morning to Kyoto, where we’ll Connect With Locals at a traditional ryokan, built in 1932 to serve as the second residence of Emperor Akihito’s uncle. We’ll enjoy a Be My Guest lunch and learn about local Japanese customs as our hosts welcome us into their beautiful home. After lunch, we visit the UNESCO-listed Kinkakuji Temple with its famous Kinkaku (Golden Pavilion), the proud symbol of Kyoto and a Zen temple, which has its origins as a 14th century villa.

Discover Enchanting Kyoto
The blazing orange torii gates of Fushimi Inari Shrine guide our path through the forest, up into the mountains and to a sacred site that has heard prayers for prosperity and happiness since the 8th century. We continue to Sanjusangen-do Hall and admire the minute detail of each of its 1,001 “thousand-handed” goddesses of mercy statues, then enjoy a walking tour of the Gion area. This evening, we indulge in a Farewell Dinner with your Travel Director and fellow guests.

Sayonara Japan
Our encounter with Japan’s age-old traditions and modern cityscapes at its end, we take a transfer by airport shuttle service to Kansai International Airport or Osaka Itami Airport for our onward flight. Alternatively, continue to Hiroshima by choosing the 13 day Splendours of Japan with Hiroshima itinerary.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.