Colors of Provence (Arles to Lyon)

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balconies for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Colors of Provence (Arles to Lyon)



Tour Description:

From romantic cities to foodie havens and artistic epicenters, this itinerary enlivens all your senses. Starting from Lyon, France’s culinary capital, savor the beauty of legendary vineyards and imbibe in local vintages like Beaujolais and Côtes du Rhône. Enjoy hunting for truffles, refining your Provençal cooking skills, and learning how to pair chocolate with wine. Trace the steps of famous artists in Arles and Avignon and be inspired!

Map for Colors of Provence (Arles to Lyon)
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Thursday 27 Jun 24 — Thursday 04 Jul 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 08 Aug 24 — Thursday 15 Aug 24Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 05 Sep 24 — Thursday 12 Sep 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 19 Sep 24 — Thursday 26 Sep 24Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 31 Oct 24 — Thursday 07 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 26 Dec 24 — Thursday 02 Jan 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 20 Mar 25 — Thursday 27 Mar 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 01 May 25 — Thursday 08 May 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 15 May 25 — Thursday 22 May 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 29 May 25 — Thursday 05 Jun 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 26 Jun 25 — Thursday 03 Jul 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 10 Jul 25 — Thursday 17 Jul 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Jul 25 — Thursday 31 Jul 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 07 Aug 25 — Thursday 14 Aug 25Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 04 Sep 25 — Thursday 11 Sep 25Starting at $4,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 16 Oct 25 — Thursday 23 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 13 Nov 25 — Thursday 20 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 25 Dec 25 — Thursday 01 Jan 26Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 19 Mar 26 — Thursday 26 Mar 26Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 16 Apr 26 — Thursday 23 Apr 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 14 May 26 — Thursday 21 May 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 28 May 26 — Thursday 04 Jun 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 11 Jun 26 — Thursday 18 Jun 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 25 Jun 26 — Thursday 02 Jul 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 09 Jul 26 — Thursday 16 Jul 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 23 Jul 26 — Thursday 30 Jul 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 06 Aug 26 — Thursday 13 Aug 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 20 Aug 26 — Thursday 27 Aug 26Starting at $4,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 03 Sep 26 — Thursday 10 Sep 26Starting at $4,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 17 Sep 26 — Thursday 24 Sep 26Starting at $4,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 01 Oct 26 — Thursday 08 Oct 26Starting at $4,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 15 Oct 26 — Thursday 22 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 29 Oct 26 — Thursday 05 Nov 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 12 Nov 26 — Thursday 19 Nov 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Thursday 24 Dec 26 — Thursday 31 Dec 26Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1
LYON – EMBARKATION. Board the ship for your Colors of Provence cruise.

Day 2
LYON. Discover dynamic Lyon, starting in Fourvière Hill, part of the city’s historic region that is now a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site and home to the 19th-century basilica Notre-Dame de Fourvière. Continue on to the old town of Lyon, followed by a guided walk through the St. Jean district, where you will be introduced to the city’s unique covered walkways, known as “traboules.” Your time in Lyon also includes time to browse the Lyon Christmas Markets and watch the city sparkle in festivities and tradition. Alternatively, indulge in rich cheeses, fresh breads and charcuterie in Les Halles Market or join a guided bike tour through the city designed with cyclists in mind.

Day 3
LYON – VIENNE. On your second day in Lyon, set out on a culinary journey that will linger on your palate for years to come. Travel to the Beaujolais wine region—known as the Pays d’Or or “land of the golden stones” – to experience France’s finest vintages firsthand. Indulge in a wine tasting at a traditional winery and learn about the history and techniques of their vineyard.

Day 4
VIENNE – TOURNON. Situated between the wine regions of Beaujolais and Côtes du Rhône lies Vienne with a Roman past that can be seen in its marvelously preserved ruins. Follow the footsteps of the ancient Romans on a walking tour to see the amazingly well-preserved Augustus and Livia Temple, the Saint Maurice Cathedral, a Gothic church that took more than 500 years to build, and St. Pierre Abbey—one of the oldest surviving churches in France, and now an Archaeological Museum. For those wishing to be more active, you can either take a guided hike from the ship to the Monastery at Mount Pipet or a guided bike tour along a portion of the ViaRhôna bike route.

Day 5
TOURNON - VIVIERS. Lovers of wine and chocolate will want to visit Le Château de Tournon for a presentation and tasting on the pairing of red wine and chocolate. For a more active adventure, take a hike through the vineyards of Tain l’Hermitage, followed by a visit to a local winery where you’ll sample some of the wines. You’ll also have many opportunities to taste the Provence’s regional specialties, including its traditional 13 desserts of Christmas throughout your journey. Later, stroll through the city accompanied by a guide in Renaissance attire as former “residents” in period costumes reenact events and legends of centuries gone by. This special historical tour is sure to bring a smile to your lips – or perhaps send shivers down your spine!

Day 6
AVIGNON. Depending on your interests, you have three choices of excursions for the morning. Avignon, aptly named the “City of Popes,” was the center of the Catholic Church in the 14th century when its “Palais des Papes” was the equivalent of today’s Vatican. Discover the history of Avignon on a guided walking tour that includes the Papal Palace. You will also have time to enjoy the lively Christmas markets with their cheerful atmosphere and delicious regional specialties. Those looking to indulge in local cuisine can You can visit three venues around Avignon to taste regional specialties including macarons, cheese and wine, and tapenades, along with a visit to the Christmas Markets. More active guest can enjoy a bike tour through the city. In the afternoon, you can go to another UNESCO World Heritage Site, the impressive Pont du Gard, a Roman aqueduct that is a masterpiece of ancient engineering. Or, you can go to the magnificent hilltop village, Grignan. After visiting this enchanting Provençal town, go in search of the highly prized “Black Diamond” truffles with a farmer and his trustworthy canine companion.

Day 7
ARLES. Considered one of the most beautiful cities in France, Arles enchants all with its tantalizing history, formerly a Roman center of trade. In the morning, venture to Les Baux de Provence, a hilltop village and ruined castle. Enjoy time in the “old village,” its shops, art galleries, and cafes interspersed among the historic ruins. You will also have a unique experience at the Carrières de Lumières, where you will be treated to a spectacular presentation of art, sound, and history projected on the walls of a former limestone quarry set to music. Next, visit an olive farm to learn about this age-old Provençal tradition and enjoy a tasting. Finally, experience the beauty of Saint Rémy de Provence, the location where Van Gogh painted some of his most famous paintings, including Starry Night. Later, join a guided walking tour where you’ll visit the Roman ruins of Arles such as its Roman Amphitheater and the Church of Saint Trophime, famous for its Romanesque architecture. Alternatively, you can enjoy a bike ride along the Rhône, through town to the Langlois Bridge, a famous subject from several Vincent Van Gogh paintings. And for those who wish to delve further into Van Gogh’s Arles, join a special walking tour along with a visit to the Vincent van Gogh Foundation, showcasing his legacy.

Day 8
ARLES – DISEMBARKATION. Bid farewell to Arles and prepare for your flight home.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.