Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balconies for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)



Tour Description:

From Budapest to Giurgiu, touch history in Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Romania, as you sail along the lower Danube. Medieval towns, Roman ruins and the Iron Gate showcase the best of Eastern Europe. Visit Belogradchik, Bulgaria’s natural wonder, and Serbia’s Novi Sad. Taste history from centuries-old vineyards in Ilok, and visit two of Romania’s legendary castles, Bran and Pele?. Throughout your journey, be treated to the flavors and cultures of this diverse swath of the continent.

Map for Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Sunday 23 Jun 24 — Sunday 30 Jun 24Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 01 Jul 24 — Monday 08 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Jul 24 — Monday 15 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 Jul 24 — Monday 05 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Aug 24 — Monday 02 Sep 24Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Sep 24 — Monday 09 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Sep 24 — Monday 30 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Sep 24 — Monday 07 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Oct 24 — Monday 28 Oct 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Oct 24 — Monday 04 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 10 Nov 24 — Sunday 17 Nov 24Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Mar 25 — Monday 24 Mar 25Starting at $3,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Apr 25 — Monday 21 Apr 25Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Apr 25 — Monday 05 May 25Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 18 May 25 — Sunday 25 May 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 May 25 — Monday 02 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 09 Jun 25 — Monday 16 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Jun 25 — Sunday 22 Jun 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Jun 25 — Monday 30 Jun 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Jul 25 — Monday 14 Jul 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 04 Aug 25 — Monday 11 Aug 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 18 Aug 25 — Monday 25 Aug 25Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 01 Sep 25 — Monday 08 Sep 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 Sep 25 — Monday 22 Sep 25Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 Sep 25 — Monday 06 Oct 25Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 13 Oct 25 — Monday 20 Oct 25Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 27 Oct 25 — Monday 03 Nov 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Nov 25 — Monday 17 Nov 25Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 16 Nov 25 — Sunday 23 Nov 25Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 11 May 26 — Monday 18 May 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 17 May 26 — Sunday 24 May 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 25 May 26 — Monday 01 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Jun 26 — Monday 15 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 14 Jun 26 — Sunday 21 Jun 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 22 Jun 26 — Monday 29 Jun 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 Jul 26 — Monday 13 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Jul 26 — Monday 27 Jul 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Aug 26 — Monday 24 Aug 26Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 31 Aug 26 — Monday 07 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 14 Sep 26 — Monday 21 Sep 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Sep 26 — Monday 05 Oct 26Starting at $4,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Oct 26 — Monday 19 Oct 26Starting at $4,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Oct 26 — Monday 02 Nov 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 15 Nov 26 — Sunday 22 Nov 26Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1
EMBARKATION – GIURGIU, ROMANIA. Embark the ship in Giurgiu for your Gems of Southeast Europe cruise.

Day 2
ROUSSE, BULGARIA. Experience more of Bucharest or visit Bulgaria’s ancient capital, Veliko Tarnovo, with its medieval fortress and multiple orthodox temples. You can opt instead to explore Rousse, known for its 19th- and 20th-century Neo-Baroque and Neo-Rococo architecture, and then afterwards visit the UNESCO-designated Rock-Hewn Churches of Ivanovo with frescos revealing exceptional artistry of 14th-century paintings.

Day 3
VIDIN, BULGARIA. Explore Vidin, one of Bulgaria’s oldest cities, and surrounding areas with a choice of excursions. Discover Baba Vida Fortress, the largest preserved medieval castle in Bulgaria, or visit a local home for a demonstration of traditional Bulgarian yogurt and Banitsa, a pastry you will also get to make. You also have the option to take an exhilarating bike tour through Vidin. Alternatively, you can bike through Vidin or enjoy a wine tasting.

Day 4
SCENIC CRUISING THROUGH THE IRON GATES. The Iron Gates are some of Europe’s most awe-inspiring natural wonders. The Danube narrows as it winds through a series of magnificent gorges between the Carpathian and Balkan mountains, forming a natural border between Serbia and Romania. The ancient King Decebalus, the last king of Dacia, is proudly carved into the mountainside and always captivates travelers. After your scenic cruise, you will arrive at Golubac Fortress – one of the best preserved medieval fortresses in Europe – for a tour.

Day 5
BELGRADE, SERBIA. Explore Serbia’s capital, Belgrade, on a city tour, which includes the Nikola Tesla Museum, encompassing the world-renowned inventor’s life and inventions, as well as the Kalemegdan Fortress and the Serbian Orthodox Cathedral of St. Sava, the largest such church in the world. Alternatively, you can hike to Belgrade Fortress. In the afternoon, enjoy a taste of the region by sampling a few types of Serbian brandy paired with delicious local appetizers, including Šlivovitz, which was added in 2022 to UNESCO’s list of “Intangible Cultural Heritage.” For those wishing a more active adventure, join a guided bike tour.

Day 6
NOVI SAD - ILOK, CROATIA. Discover Novi Sad, the “Serbian Athens,” on a walking tour to Dunavski Park and through Stari Grad, the Old Town center. If you prefer a more active exploration, join a guided biking tour or hike to Petrovaradin Fortress, a mighty stronghold no enemy has ever breached. Later in the day, cruise to Vukovar, a Croatian symbol of resistance, which you’ll better understand on your city tour where you may visit sites such as Eltz Manor House and Vukovar’s famous water tower. Alternatively, choose a wine tasting in Ilok, a center of wine production since Roman times, where you’ll sample its famous Grasevina, Traminac and Frankovka wines.

Day 7
MOHÁCS - PÉCS, HUNGARY. Visit Pécs, founded more than 2,000 years ago by the Romans, and the UNESCO-designated Christian Necropolis; St. Peter’s Basilica, the city’s main Catholic cathedral along with its catacombs; and Széchenyi Square, the heart of Old Town Pécs. You will also see the Mosque of Pasha Qasim the Victorious, one of the symbols of the city. Or for wine connoisseurs, you’ll want to go to the Szekszárd wine region, one of the oldest red-wine-growing areas in Hungary, established more than 2,000 years ago. You may also take an exhilarating guided bike tour around Mohács.

Day 8
BUDAPEST – DISEMBARKATION. Disembark the ship in Budapest and prepare for your flight home.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.