Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)

Our clients ask many questions about the who what and why about Ama Waterways. Let start with your stateroom which may have 2 balcony's for AMA River Cruises guests. When in port guests can choose from a list of unique tours all included in your AMA River Cruise price. From a bike tour to a stop for a bratwurst with a beer the optionals are terrific. Clients rave in their AMA Waterways reviews about the personal service aboard their sailing. We receive so many comments about AMA Christmas river cruises. Pavlus Travel provides value all Ama River Cruises sailings. In fact we promise the lowest fare to all clients.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)



Tour Description:

From Budapest to Giurgiu, touch history in Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Romania, as you sail along the lower Danube. Medieval towns, Roman ruins and the Iron Gate showcase the best of Eastern Europe. Visit Belogradchik, Bulgaria’s natural wonder, and Serbia’s Novi Sad. Taste history from centuries-old vineyards in Ilok, and visit two of Romania’s legendary castles, Bran and Pele?. Throughout your journey, be treated to the flavors and cultures of this diverse swath of the continent.

Map for Gems of Southeast Europe (Budapest to Giurgiu)
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Monday 10 Oct 22 — Tuesday 18 Oct 22Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Oct 22 — Tuesday 25 Oct 22Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Nov 22 — Tuesday 15 Nov 22Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Mar 23 — Tuesday 28 Mar 23Starting at $2,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 02 Apr 23 — Monday 10 Apr 23Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Apr 23 — Tuesday 18 Apr 23Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 17 Apr 23 — Tuesday 25 Apr 23Starting at $3,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 30 Apr 23 — Monday 08 May 23Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 May 23 — Tuesday 16 May 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 May 23 — Tuesday 23 May 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 12 Jun 23 — Tuesday 20 Jun 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 25 Jun 23 — Monday 03 Jul 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jul 23 — Tuesday 11 Jul 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 31 Jul 23 — Tuesday 08 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 07 Aug 23 — Tuesday 15 Aug 23Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Aug 23 — Tuesday 05 Sep 23Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 04 Sep 23 — Tuesday 12 Sep 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 25 Sep 23 — Tuesday 03 Oct 23Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Oct 23 — Tuesday 31 Oct 23Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Oct 23 — Tuesday 07 Nov 23Starting at $3,699Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 20 Nov 23 — Tuesday 28 Nov 23Starting at $3,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 31 Mar 24 — Monday 08 Apr 24Starting at $3,599Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Apr 24 — Tuesday 16 Apr 24Starting at $3,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 15 Apr 24 — Tuesday 23 Apr 24Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 28 Apr 24 — Monday 06 May 24Starting at $4,099Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 06 May 24 — Tuesday 14 May 24Starting at $3,799Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 13 May 24 — Tuesday 21 May 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 03 Jun 24 — Tuesday 11 Jun 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 10 Jun 24 — Tuesday 18 Jun 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Sunday 23 Jun 24 — Monday 01 Jul 24Starting at $4,399Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 01 Jul 24 — Tuesday 09 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 08 Jul 24 — Tuesday 16 Jul 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 29 Jul 24 — Tuesday 06 Aug 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 26 Aug 24 — Tuesday 03 Sep 24Starting at $4,199Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 02 Sep 24 — Tuesday 10 Sep 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 23 Sep 24 — Tuesday 01 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 30 Sep 24 — Tuesday 08 Oct 24Starting at $4,299Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 21 Oct 24 — Tuesday 29 Oct 24Starting at $3,999Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 28 Oct 24 — Tuesday 05 Nov 24Starting at $3,899Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Monday 18 Nov 24 — Tuesday 26 Nov 24Starting at $3,499Check Mark Icon SPECIALGet a Quote
Check Mark Icon Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.


ITINERARY

Day 1
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY – EMBARKATION. Board the ship for your Gems of Southeast Europe cruise. During the evening, be treated to an Illuminations cruise.

Day 2
MOHÁCS – PÉCS. Enjoy a scenic morning cruise to Mohács. You’ll then visit Pécs, founded more than 2,000 years ago by the Romans. Visit the UNESCO-designated Christian Necropolis; St. Peter’s Basilica, the city’s main Catholic cathedral along with its catacombs; and Széchenyi Square, the heart of Old Town Pécs. You will also see the Mosque of Pasha Qasim the Victorious, one of the symbols of the city. Or for wine connoisseurs, you’ll want to go to the Szekszárd wine region, one of the oldest red-wine-growing areas in Hungary, established more than 2,000 years ago. You may also take an exhilarating guided bike tour around Mohács.

Day 3
VUKOVAR, CROATIA – NOVI SAD, SERBIA. Vukovar is a Croatian symbol of resistance, which you’ll better understand on your city tour showcasing the Ovčara Memorial and Eltz Castle. Alternatively, choose a wine tasting in Ilok, a center of wine production since Roman times, where you’ll sample its famous Grasevina, Traminac and Frankovka wines. Back on board, cruise to Novi Sad, sometimes called the “Serbian Athens.” Discover Novi Sad on a walking tour to Dunavski Park and through Stari Grad, the Old Town center. If you prefer a more active exploration, join a guided biking tour or hike through Fruska Gora National Park. During the evening, visit Petrovaradin Fortress, a mighty stronghold no enemy has ever breached.

Day 4
BELGRADE. Explore Serbia’s capital, Belgrade, on a city tour, which includes the Kalemegdan Fortress and the Serbian Orthodox Temple of St. Sava. Later, choose from three intriguing excursions. Visit the Royal Palace, the official residence of the Serbian Royal Family; and then tour the House of Flowers, the mausoleum of Marshal Tito, who became the first President of Yugoslavia. Or enjoy a taste of the region by sampling Serbian plum brandy, Šlivovitz, and delicious local delights at the Quburich Distillery. For those wishing a more active adventure, join a guided bike tour or hike to Belgrade Fortress. (B,L,D

Day 5
SCENIC CRUISING THROUGH THE IRON GATES. The Iron Gates is one of Europe’s most aweinspiring natural wonders. The Danube narrows as it winds through a series of magnificent gorges between the Carpathian and Balkan mountains, forming a natural border between Serbia and Romania. The ancient Serbian king Decebalus is proudly carved into the mountainside and always captivates travelers.

Day 6
VIDIN, BULGARIA. Explore Vidin, one of Bulgaria’s oldest cities, and surrounding areas with a choice of excursions. Discover Baba Vida Fortress, the largest preserved medieval castle in Bulgaria. Continue on to Belogradchik, one of Bulgaria’s natural wonders, where you can hike around its most spectacular rock formations. Alternatively, visit a local home for a demonstration of traditional Bulgarian yogurt and Banitsa, a pastry you will also get to make. You also have the choice to bike through Vidin and to the castle.

Day 7
ROUSSE – GIURGIU, ROMANIA. Visit Bulgaria’s ancient capital, Veliko Tarnovo, with its medieval fortress and multiple orthodox temples. You can opt instead to go to Rousse, known for its 19th- and 20th-century Neo-Baroque and Neo-Rococo architecture, and then afterwards visit the UNESCO-designated Rock-Hewn Churches of Ivanovo with frescos revealing exceptional artistry of 14th-century paintings. Later in the day, travel through the Romanian countryside to the capital of Bucharest, known as the “Little Paris of the East.” Enjoy a panoramic tour of the historic city center and its elegant architecture, followed by a visit to the Palace of the Parliament, the second largest administrative building in the world.

Day 8
GIURGIU – DISEMBARKATION. Bid farewell to Giurgiu as you prepare for your flight home.

Check Mark Disclaimer: Prices listed are per person, based on double occupancy, and in USD. All promotions are valid for new bookings only, capacity controlled and valid on select dates and departures. Individual Terms and Conditions will apply to all promotions. Any promotion can be withdrawn at any time without notice. Please speak with your Pavlus Travel Planner for complete vendor terms and conditions, including eligible tour and cruise dates.