Peru: Machu Picchu & the Sacred Valley

People ask is A&K the same company as Abercrombie and Kent? The answer is yes. Geoffrey Kent founded Abercrombie and Kent in Africa in 1962. The Kent family introduced luxury African Safari travel then over the years then expanded to all seven continents. A&K now offers luxury Expedition Cruising, Private Jet Travel Around the World, outstanding African expeditions to the last Continent of Antarctica. Pavlus Travel is a leader in providing the lowest prices for all A & K travel Worldwide travel be it a Tanzania Safari or any of their luxury European tours.
Call Us 800.528.9300

Peru: Machu Picchu & the Sacred Valley



Tour Description:

Experience the enduring heritage of the Incas as
you interact with the people of the Sacred Valley,
sample Peruvian culinary delights and explore
magnificent Machu Picchu, staying at
the only hotel on site.

Map for Peru: Machu Picchu & the Sacred Valley
Click for larger view.

Dates & Pricing

Friday 28 Jun 24 — Friday 05 Jul 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 12 Jul 24 — Friday 19 Jul 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 23 Aug 24 — Friday 30 Aug 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 13 Sep 24 — Friday 20 Sep 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 20 Sep 24 — Friday 27 Sep 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 04 Oct 24 — Friday 11 Oct 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 11 Oct 24 — Friday 18 Oct 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 25 Oct 24 — Friday 01 Nov 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 08 Nov 24 — Friday 15 Nov 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 13 Dec 24 — Friday 20 Dec 24Starting at $8,340 Get a Quote
Friday 17 Jan 25 — Friday 24 Jan 25Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Friday 07 Feb 25 — Friday 14 Feb 25Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Friday 07 Mar 25 — Friday 14 Mar 25Starting at $7,995 Get a Quote
Friday 28 Mar 25 — Friday 04 Apr 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Tuesday 01 Apr 25 — Tuesday 08 Apr 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Tuesday 22 Apr 25 — Tuesday 29 Apr 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Tuesday 06 May 25 — Tuesday 13 May 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 23 May 25 — Friday 30 May 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Tuesday 03 Jun 25 — Tuesday 10 Jun 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 13 Jun 25 — Friday 20 Jun 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 27 Jun 25 — Friday 04 Jul 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 11 Jul 25 — Friday 18 Jul 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 08 Aug 25 — Friday 15 Aug 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 29 Aug 25 — Friday 05 Sep 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 26 Sep 25 — Friday 03 Oct 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 10 Oct 25 — Friday 17 Oct 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Tuesday 21 Oct 25 — Tuesday 28 Oct 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 31 Oct 25 — Friday 07 Nov 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 07 Nov 25 — Friday 14 Nov 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote
Friday 05 Dec 25 — Friday 12 Dec 25Starting at $8,295 Get a Quote


ITINERARY

Day 1 - Lima, Peru
Arrive in Lima and transfer to your hotel, located in the city’s exclusive residential district of Miraflores. Founded in 1535 by Spanish conquistador Francisco Pizarro, this “City of Kings” is a blend of colonial structures, pre-Colombian sites and modern conveniences.

Day 2 - Lima
Start with a visit this morning to Huaca Pucllana, a historical site in the midst of urban Lima. Then, visit a food market in the company of a local chef before enjoying lunch at a local restaurant. Afterward, stroll the city’s colorful Barranco, an artists’ haven, and visit the Osma Museum. Continue your gastronomic discovery of Peru on a Chef’s Table experience, savoring the delicious dishes you have cooked for dinner.

Day 3 - Sacred Valley
Fly to Cusco, located more than 11,000 feet above sea level, where you are met and transferred to the Sacred Valley of the Incas. En route, visit an animal sanctuary to interact with the South American camelids living there — such as llamas and alpacas — and learn about the valuable fibers created from their coats. Then, visit the beautiful Hacienda Sarapampa to savor lunch with the owner, who cordially shares his family’s history in farming and shows you around the farm. Continue to your awe-inspiring resort, designed to fit in with the Sacred Valley’s landscapes.

Day 4 - Sacred Valley
Visit a remote village where the local residents provide a hands-on introduction to the customs and crafts that make up their way of life, including weaving and cooking, for an A&K-exclusive experience. Then, participate in one of Peru’s oldest and most sacred rituals when you join a local shaman in a traditional offering to Mother Earth (Pachamama). After this spiritual ceremony, visit the Kuychi Center to meet the children at Niños del Arco Iris (Children of the Rainbow), a project supported by Abercrombie & Kent Philanthropy that provides education, nutrition, medical care and hope to children in the Sacred Valley. Sit down to lunch served on site before returning to your hotel, where you prepare for your visit to Machu Picchu with a private lecture from a renowned scholar and expert on the Incas. Enjoy the rest of the afternoon at leisure, gazing upon the soaring Andes and savoring a refreshing Scenic Sundowner.

Day 5 - Machu Picchu
Today, explore Ollantaytambo, a fortress of massive stone terraces that hug the mountain slopes and the site of the Incas’ greatest victory over the invading Spanish. Then Ride Like a Local, journeying aboard the Inca Rail First-Class Train deep into the Andes toward Machu Picchu, and gazing out at the spectacular Peruvian countryside. Upon arrival in the early afternoon, explore the ruins with your expert guide and, as you wander amid the age-old stone walls, picture life as it might have been in this majestic high-altitude citadel. Overlooking the Urubamba River, Machu Picchu was built in the 15th century at the height of the Inca Empire. Although this “Lost City” was revealed to the rest of the world by American historian Hiram Bingham in 1911, its location was long known to locals. Alternatively (for an additional cost), travel by train for the same scenic ride, but with a twist: disembark at KM 104 and set out with a guide on a hike that culminates at the Sun Gate (Inti Punku), looking out over the vast UNESCO World Heritage Site. Either way, arrive for your overnight stay at the only hotel located on-site at marvelous Machu Picchu.

Day 6 - Machu Picchu
Rise with the sun to walk through Machu Picchu in the early morning mist before the crowds arrive, an experience some consider the spiritual highlight of the journey. After exploring the “Lost City of the Incas,” board the Vistadome train back to Ollantaytambo. Continue to Cusco, where you check in to your hotel, once a 16th-century monastery and now a national monument that offers a retreat from the bustle of Cusco while set just off the city square.

Day 7 - Cusco
This morning, discover Cusco on a city tour that includes the Cathedral on the Plaza de Armas and the Santo Domingo Temple. Listen as a local expert explains how the historic clashes between the Incas and the Spanish played a role in forming today’s Peruvian culture. Later, visit the well-preserved ruins of Sacsayhuaman, a testament to Incan architectural skill. This imposing fortress, which witnessed the greatest battle between the Spanish and the Incas, is compiled from colossal stones and overlooks the red-tiled roofs of Cusco. This afternoon, enjoy time at leisure to rest or shop. Tonight, listen to a private Andean music presentation by a regional expert and learn the history of his handmade instruments. Absorb not only the timeless quality of the Peruvian folk tunes he plays, but the unmistakable cultural identity revealed by their haunting, immersive melodies as well. Afterward, sit down to a farewell dinner at an elegant Cusco restaurant, where the chef gathers local ingredients for use in innovative recipes that remain true to Peru’s culinary traditions.

Day 8 - Lima
This morning, enjoy one of these Design Your Day activities. Visit the San Blas Neighborhood, a unique, bohemian enclave where you find the workshops of artisans. Stroll San Pedro Market and Visit the Inca Museum for a taste of local fruits and cheese, and a glimpse of daily life, followed by a look back into Peru’s rich history. Explore with an Expert Photographer who helps you refine your skills and capture Cusco as a local sees it, including its narrow streets and beautiful houses. Later, board your departing flight.